Voluntary Ex Ante Transparency Notice for Provision of Solicitors for UK Covid-19 Inquiry Contract Extension
Cabinet OfficeEstimated Value
Up to £1
Deadline
Not specified
Published
14 May 2026
Type
services
Overview
This VEAT sets out the Cabinet Office's (in sponsorship capacity to the UK Covid-19 Public Inquiry) intention to extend the CCLL23A10 contract for the provision of a Solicitor and supporting legal team to provide continuous legal advice to the Inquiry Chair on the operation of the Inquiry. The proposed extension is a time-only extension and will be delivered within the existing total contract value.
At section II.1.7. of this notice the Total value of the procurement (excluding VAT) is stated at £1 as a £0 value is not a permitted input to the notice. The total contract value will not be amended and remains £37,635,940 At V.2) Award of contract/concession > V.2.1) Date of conclusion of the contract we included the date of 14 May 2026, based on the system only permitting dates that are today or in the past.
The existing contract will actually conclude on 16 December 2026, with the extension referenced in this notice taking the contract expiry to 30 September 2027. The Cabinet Office intends to observe a standstill period of 10 days and will not conclude this contract amendment before 29 May 2026.
Additional details
No other changes will be made to the contract. Firms who have acted in connection with the Inquiry when supporting any core participants cannot act as Solicitor to the Inquiry.
This VEAT sets out the intention to extend the CCLL23A10 contract. The proposed extension is a time-only extension and will be delivered within the existing total contract value.
The total contract value will not be amended and will remain £37,635,940. At V.2) Award of contract/concession > V.2.1) Date of conclusion of the contract we included the date of 14 May 2026, based on the system only permitting dates that are today or in the past.
The existing contract will actually conclude on 16 December 2026, with the extension referenced in this notice taking the contract expiry to 30 September 2027. The Cabinet Office intends to observe a standstill period of 10 days and will not conclude this contract amendment before 29 May 2026.
No other changes will be made to the contract. Firms who have acted in connection with the Inquiry when supporting any core participants cannot act as Solicitor to the Inquiry. The extension will include the following significantly reduced deliverables as the Inquiry approaches closedown: -Support to the Chair concerning her final changes to the M10 report -Support on report publication event preparation and delivery for Modules 8, 9 and 10 -Post-report publication queries and judicial review advice for Modules 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 -General legal advice to Chair / Secretary and occasional attendance at office holder and/or governance meetings -Section 14 advice -Archiving advice
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Award Details
Burges Salmon LLP
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
TLT LLP
£40,000
total awarded
TLT LLP is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Key Dates
Published
14 May 2026
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
award
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Notice of intention to award under the public health framework - live well preventative health services
This is a Provider Selection Regime (PSR) intention to award notice. The awarding of this contract is subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 20
Targeted prostate cancer screening programme - MRI reporting service
The Contracting Authority is procuring a targeted prostate cancer screening pathway with a focus on men at increased risk due to an inherited BRCA2 variant utilising the competitiv
Public health pharmacy pseudo-dynamic purchasing system (PDPS) round 9
This notice is in relation to the publish of the onboarding round of the Public Health Pharmacy Pseudo-Dynamic Purchasing System (PDPS) (Round 9). The service specification set out
Healthy lives dynamic purchasing vehicle - category 4 round 13 - onboarding
This is an opening of the Onboarding Round 13 for Category 4 - Addressing resource inequality Rounds will open and close throughout the lifetime of the Healthy Lives Dynamic Purcha
