UK nature-based Carbon Removal Credits (UK nature-based Carbon Removal Credits - Second PME)
Met OfficeEstimated Value
Not specified
Deadline
19 October 2026
Published
5 October 2026
Type
Not specified
Overview
The Met Office undertook an initial Preliminary Market Engagement exercise in May 2026 to understand market capability and potential approaches to the supply of verified UK nature-based carbon credits. All clarification questions raised during the previous PME, together with the responses provided, are included at Annex A for information.Please note: The requirement has changed to verified UK nature-based carbon removal credits only; therefore, some previous PME responses may no longer apply.Since that engagement, the proposed procurement approach and requirement have developed.
The Met Office is now considering the purchase of approximately £500,000 of verified UK nature-based carbon credits during FY 2026/27, with the credits intended to be retired in FY 2030/31. A small proportion of the credits may be retired earlier to offset business travel incurred in customer funded programmes.As the tender documentation has developed, a number of additional questions have been identified where further market insight would be beneficial.
The Met Office therefore intends to undertake a further period of Preliminary Market Engagement to inform the market of the revised approach, provide an update on anticipated procurement timelines, seek feedback on the additional questions arising from the development of the tender documentation, confirm our understanding of the terminology, and assess current market interest and capability to participate in the opportunity. The engagement will be used to support the continued development and assessment of the Met Office’s proposed approach, including the potential procurement strategy and associated documentation.
Additional details
Feedback received through the engagement will help inform the Met Office’s consideration of the available options and whether and how to proceed with any future procurement opportunity. Participation in this engagement does not represent a commitment by the Met Office to undertake a subsequent procurement exercise, nor provide any process exemptions or preferential treatment to any parties expressing an interest.
The Met Office will not be liable for costs incurred by any interested party in participating in this exercise.?This exercise does not commit the Met Office to a procurement and does not guarantee that a future procurement will take place.Responses will be considered solely for the purpose of informing the development of any future procurement strategy and associated procurement documentation. Responses will not be scored, evaluated or used as part of any future tender evaluation process.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
The Met Office is looking to buy about £500,000 of verified UK nature‑based carbon removal credits for the 2026/27 financial year, with the credits to be retired by 2030/31, and is running a second Preliminary Market Engagement to gauge market interest and capability.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
COMPUTACENTER (UK) LIMITED
11 contracts wonlatest 5 Oct 2026ends 30 Sept 2027£969,577
total awarded
- 2
IBM LIMITED
£1m
total awarded
- 3
UNIVERSITY OF EXETER
£14m
total awarded
- 4
Campbell Scientific Ltd
8 contracts wonlatest 21 Apr 2026ends 31 Mar 2031£791,048
total awarded
- 5
UNIVERSITY OF READING
£14m
total awarded
COMPUTACENTER (UK) LIMITED is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Procurement Portal
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view this tender on the official portal
Find submission instructions
Look for "How to apply" or "Submission" sections in the notice
Register on the portal
Create a free account on the buyer's procurement platform
Download tender documents
Download all specifications, templates, and pricing schedules
Submit before the deadline
Complete all documents and submit through the portal — do not email unless explicitly instructed
Always check the official notice for the exact submission method and deadline.
Create an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Buyer Profile
Met OfficeKey Dates
Published
5 October 2026
Submission deadline
19 October 2026
Source
procontract
Related Tenders
002468 - Contract for fleet equipment maintenance and potential repair
Durham County Council (DCC) have a requirement for the ongoing maintenance, calibration, and potential repair of all workshop equipment across all four of their workshops. The flee
Extra care housing development - edinburgh house
NB: The Councils' high level requirements are summarised below with further important details included within the Procurement Documents accessible via https://supplier.in-tend.co.u
Carbine backup sights
The CNC requires Backup Iron Sights (BUS) to provide a reliable secondary sighting capability for its GR115 carbines. The BUS will be used alongside the CNC’s chosen primary sighti
Notice of intention to award under the public health framework - live well preventative health services
This is a Provider Selection Regime (PSR) intention to award notice. The awarding of this contract is subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 20
