System operational · UK tenders
Awarded
ocds-h6vhtk-065ca1 · award

Surfacing Works for Gloucestershire County Council 2022 to 2026 (2026 to 2027)

Gloucestershire County Council

Estimated Value

Up to £24,000,000

Deadline

Not specified

Published

25 February 2026

Type

works

South WestGBlimitedCPV: 45233000
CategoryConstruction

Overview

This VEAT Notice gives advance public warning that the Authority intends to modify its existing contract titled "Surfacing Works for Gloucestershire County Council 2022 to 2026" solely to extend the contract term beyond its current expiry date. The Authority intends to extend the existing contract for a period of 12 months, from the current expiry date of 31st March 2026, ending on 31st March 2027.

The procurement process for a replacement structural maintenance contract, that was intended to replace the Council's current structural maintenance contract, was halted in Autumn 2025 due to a technical issue that arose with the tender documents. In considering the next steps, it is considered that it would be prudent to extend the current contract for a period of one year to enable the Council to consider its approach to re-procurement and ensure that the procurement better reflects the emerging, but as yet unclear service requirement arising as a result of the forthcoming Local Government Reorganisation in Gloucestershire which have the potential to impact this County wide service.

The long-term position related to Local Government Reorganisation in Gloucestershire remains unclear. The structural make-up of local authorities in the county could have a material impact on how the proposed replacement structural maintenance contract might be structured and operated.

Key dates

Commences
1st April 2027
Duration
12 months

Regulations cited

  • Public Contracts Regulations 2015

Additional details

Risks therefore exist in progressing with such a high value and high-profile contract whilst there remains considerable 'unknowns'. This could risk locking the Council into a long-term contract and a delivery model now, which might not best suit local need and / or would require re-negotiation once the Local Government Reorganisation position is more fully understood.

The intention is that any replacement structural maintenance contract following this extension will commence on 1st April 2027. The Authority will begin the procurement process for this in April 2026 through the publication of a Market Engagement Notice.

The extension qualifies as a non substantial modification under Regulation 72(1)(e) and Regulation 72(8) of the Public Contracts Regulations 2015. The modification is required to ensure continuity of services and to allow more time for a procurement process to be developed in respect of a longer-term replacement contract which better reflects the requirements of the emerging Local Government Reorganisation position.

The modification is necessary because: • The Authority requires continuity of service while undertaking market review and preparing a compliant procurement procedure. • The need for the extension could not reasonably have been foreseen during the original procurement. • The extension does not exceed thresholds that would render it substantial. The works are part of the structural maintenance programme for Gloucestershire County Council and will be ordered by Task Order for each individual package/scheme.

Works to consist of structural repairs to the County Network including planing off existing surfaces and replacement to the various depths and layers required by the design of each scheme. Works will also include minor works reactive schemes from Area Managers budgets Depot schemes tend to be smaller in size than schemes in the structural maintenance programme.

Works will also include a limited number of patching schemes. Works will include temporary traffic management, site clearance, adjustment to ironworks, siding, surfacing, ancillary kerbing, road marks and patching.

The works will be located across the County. The intention is that any replacement structural maintenance contract following this extension will commence on 1st April 2027. The Authority will begin the procurement process for this in April 2026 through the publication of a Market Engagement Notice.

AI AnalysisMembers

Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.

Create free account

£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.

Award Details

Tarmac Trading Limited

£24,000,000

Search for tenders
SponsoredEst. 2010
Gladstone & Co AccountantsTax advisers · East Ham, London

Before you bid, buyers check

two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios

Annual accountsCash-flow forecastsManagement accountsCorporation taxVAT & MTDPayroll & RTIBookkeepingCompany formationSelf-assessmentVirtual FDHMRC enquiriesAuto-enrolmentProperty & landlord taxCharity SORP accounts
Get bid-ready — free 30-min call

Actions

Start free trialto open notice

Create an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.

Open Bid Writer
Built by · Digital studioEst. 2022
Unique
Evolution®

Independent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.

Web DesignSoftware DevelopmentSEO ServicesPromotion
Visit Unique Evolution

How to Apply

Step-by-step submission guide

Submission Portal

Find a Tender

Visit
1

Open the original notice

Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)

2

Check the procedure type

The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply

3

Access the eSourcing portal

FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents

4

Complete the Selection Questionnaire

Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage

5

Submit electronically

Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time

FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.

Buyer Profile

Gloucestershire County Council
Typepublic body
Total tenders172
Total spend£3,204,092,065
View buyer profile

Key Dates

Published

25 February 2026

Submission deadline

Not specified

Notice type

award

Source

find a tender

Similar

Related Tenders

D
Open
ocds-h6vhtk-05a954 · tender

Road surface treatments - DPS

Dorset Council
worksSouth West

This Dynamic Purchasing System is for the provision of the following Road Surface Treatment Services: • Premium Surface Dressing • Micro Asphalting and Footway Surface Treatments •

£Up to £12,000,000
⏱ 27 Sept 2028
Posted · 12mo ago717d to apply →
S
Open
730d30e5-f328-4b66-be0e-1313c6b74cc8 · Contract

4 John street, maryport - lintel replacement and rendering

Storm Tempest Ltd
worksNorth WestSME friendly

Replacement of a rotten timber lintel with a new steel or concrete lintel for a property located within a conservation area. To include renewal of lime stucco render to the front e

££20,000 — £30,000
⏱ 5 Nov 2026
Posted · yesterday26d to apply →
N
Open
ocds-h6vhtk-06f872 · tenderUpdate

Joinery contractors framework

NHS Lanarkshire
worksScotland

NHS Lanarkshire is setting up a Joinery Contractors Framework to supply planned, routine, reactive and emergency joinery work across its hospitals and community sites. The contract is split into three lots based on work value and location, with one‑year emergency cover required.

£Up to £4,300,000
⏱ 19 Oct 2026
Posted · yesterday9d to apply →
A
Open
ocds-h6vhtk-078458 · tender

Angus rural mobility hub - enabling infrastructure works

Angus Council
worksScotland

The project comprises the enabling infrastructure only required for a new Mobility Hub. We are seeking a Main/ Principal Contractor to carry out the enabling infrastructure works f

£Up to £4,650,000
⏱ 9 Nov 2026
Posted · 2d ago29d to apply →