Prisoner Telephony Services – Bridging Agreement
Ministry of JusticeEstimated Value
Up to £94,620,000
Deadline
Not specified
Published
10 September 2026
Type
Not specified
Overview
This direct award procurement is a concession contract to continue the existing prisoner telephony service for the prisons in England and Wales which are run by HM Prison and Probation Service. The Bridging Agreement is drafted as an extension/contract change notice to the current PTS contract.
The prisoner telephony service (PTS) is currently provided by British Telecommunications Limited (company number 01800000) (BT) in the prisons in England and Wales which are run by HM Prison and Probation Service and has been for several years. The ability for prisoners to maintain relationships with family and friends is critical as it contributes to prisoners’ wellbeing, order and discipline, rehabilitation, and a reduction in the likelihood of reoffending.
The main communication channel in use currently is voice calls, provided by the PTS. The PTS scope includes use of in-cell phones, wing phones, mobile PIN phones and staff to cell phones.
Regulations cited
- Procurement Act 2023
Contact & helpdesk
PTS is a critical service which allows prisoners to make phone calls to approved contact numbers using a unique personal identification number (PIN).
Additional details
This direct award, known as the Bridging Agreement, will bridge the period between 1 June 2027 (the current contract expires on 31 May 2027) up to 30 November 2031, which is the period required to enable governing, procuring, mobilising, testing and transitioning to the replacement next generation communications service called the Prisoner Integrated Communications Service (PICS). Under the Bridging Agreement, BT will continue to provide the PTS on substantially the same terms as the current PTS contract together with exit services to transition to PICS.
PTS is procured as a concession contract as it is predominately funded from the income generated by prisoners who purchase phone credit from BT. The contracting authority (MOJ) is relying on the single supplier direct award justifications under section 41 and schedule 5 paragraphs 5 and/or 6 of the Procurement Act 2023 in the alternative: -paragraph 5 (a)due to a particular supplier having intellectual property rights or other exclusive rights, only that supplier can supply the goods, services or works required, and (b)there are no reasonable alternatives to those goods, services or works. and in the alternative: -paragraph 6 (a)due to an absence of competition for technical reasons, only a particular supplier can supply the goods, services or works required, and (b)there are no reasonable alternatives to those goods, services or works.
The explanations for why the justifications apply are as follows: Intellectual property rights - paragraph 5. This justification applies because only BT has the intellectual property rights needed to be able to provide the services.
This is a consequence of the intellectual property clauses in the current PTS contract and the Bridging Agreement. No reasonable alternatives In the absence of the intellectual property rights that would be needed for an alternative supplier to be able to provide the services, the only reasonable potential alternative would be for MOJ to procure another supplier/s to develop a replacement solution that meets MOJ’s requirements – whether building from scratch or configuring a commercial-off-the-shelf solution.
Any replacement supplier/s would then need time for mobilising, testing and transitioning to that replacement solution after it had been appropriately governed and procured by MOJ. There is not sufficient time to do all these activities which would be necessary to transition to a replacement solution by the date the services are required, which is 1 June 2027.
This is evidenced by the number of years it is taking to replace the PTS and transition to the next generation replacement service, PICS. PICS is being designed for use in the prisons in England and Wales which are run by HM Prisons and Probation Service and will be rolled out incrementally over time to eventually end use of the PTS service.
MOJ is approximately two years into the PICS project. The direct award for the Bridging Agreement is for the period required to facilitate MOJ procuring, governing, testing, mobilising and transitioning from PTS to PICS.
Therefore, there are no reasonable alternatives. The second justification is absence of competition for technical reasons - paragraph 6 There is an absence of competition for technical reasons which are based on the same arguments as for the intellectual property rights justification under paragraph 5, which are stated above.
The PTS is bespoke and an alternative supplier would not be able to walk in and take over the services on the date from which they are required due to the intellectual property rights of BT. Instead, there would have to be an appropriately governed procurement/s and then the selected supplier/s would have to mobilise, test and then transition to that service and as stated in the justification under paragraph 5 above, this is not possible to do by the time the services are required on 1 June 2027.
No reasonable alternatives The same justifications, stated above, for why there are no reasonable alternatives for paragraph 5 intellectual property rights, apply to the justification for paragraph 6. Therefore, there are no reasonable alternatives.
For background information, MOJ has conducted several forms of preliminary market engagement for PICS to replace the Bridging Agreement. Following that market engagement, MOJ has been developing plans for the future.
MOJ anticipates that the contracts for prisoner telephony services to support PICS will be let through relevant frameworks agreements such as RM6377 Network Services 4, RM6098 Technology Products & Associated Services (TePAS) 2 and/or TePAS 3 operated by the Government Commercial Agency (GCA); Procurements to commence after February 2027. Prospective suppliers are encouraged to engage with GCA (gca.gov.uk) and/or on-framework suppliers to participate in framework opportunities.
To obtain information from the preliminary market engagement which has occurred already and to register for updates for PICS, please contact vvn.cmo@justice.gov.uk Note: With effect on 25 June 2026, BT registered a change at Companies House to reflect its re-registration from a plc. Whilst the company’s name has changed, the legal entity remains the same with the same company number.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Award Details
British Telecommunications plc
£94,620,000
British Telecommunications Limited
£94,620,000
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
G & J Wood Machinery Ltd
23 contracts wonlatest 25 Sept 2026ends 30 Nov 2029£5m
total awarded
- 2
Shannon Trust
12 contracts wonlatest 1 Oct 2026ends 2 Aug 2028£1m
total awarded
- 3
Scott & Sargeant Woodworking Machinery Ltd
10 contracts wonlatest 20 Feb 2026£330,000
total awarded
- 4
Glendale Presentation Solutions
8 contracts wonlatest 7 Jul 2026£370,000
total awarded
- 5
PeoplePlus Group Ltd
6 contracts wonlatest 17 Sept 2026ends 30 Sept 2027£108m
total awarded
G & J Wood Machinery Ltd is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
Ministry of JusticeKey Dates
Published
10 September 2026
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
award
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Integrated tractor and winch units
National Grid Electricity Transmission has a requirement for the provision of tractors with integrated heavy-duty winch systems, supplied as a single combined unit, for use in over
Targeted prostate cancer screening programme - MRI reporting service
The Contracting Authority is procuring a targeted prostate cancer screening pathway with a focus on men at increased risk due to an inherited BRCA2 variant utilising the competitiv
Provision of smoking cessation service.
Waltham Forest's specialist stop smoking service will be based on the existing contract to build on the success we have seen to date. The provider will continue to deliver a commun
1074279646 T1416 - feasibility and impact of a full description of train path
RSSB is seeking to appoint a supplier to undertake research into the feasibility and potential impact of developing a more detailed description of a train’s full path than is curre
