System operational · UK tenders
Awarded
ocds-h6vhtk-06b02f · award

MID/26/26 Auchendinny Penicuik , Affordable Housing Supply Programme

Midlothian Council

Estimated Value

Up to £17,273,201

Deadline

Not specified

Published

8 June 2026

Type

works

ScotlandGBlimitedCPV: 45211300
CategoryConstruction

Overview

In terms of Midlothian Council’s affordable housing policy, it is noted that the Penicuik area is one of the Council’s locations with high demand. As a result the Council requires to secure land within the Penicuik area to assist with meeting that demand and policy ambition and to deliver its Affordable Housing Supply Programme.

The area of land at Auchendinny Penicuik owned by BELLWAY HOMES LIMITED incorporated under the Companies Acts, (Registered Number 00670176), having its Registered Office at Woolsington House, Woolsington, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE13 8BF (“the Sellers) fits with that policy ambition. The contract for the purchase of land is an excluded contract under Regulation 11(1) of the Public Contracts (Scotland) Regulations 2015 (2015 Regulations).

The Sellers have included as a condition of the sale of its land that the Council is required to enter into a construction contract with the Sellers for the construction of 75 social rented units on the land being acquired. Without acquiring the land, the Council could not meet its policy in respect of affordable housing in the Penicuik area and the scheme would not be capable of progressing.

Regulations cited

  • Public Contracts (Scotland) Regulations 2015

Additional details

As a result the Council progressed using the negotiated procedure without prior publication on the basis the works could only be provided by the Sellers on the basis that (i) for technical reasons competition is absent and (ii) the Sellers have exclusive rights in respect of the land and has taken steps within the missives to protect its exclusive rights. There is no reasonable alternative in the Penicuik area.

The negotiated procedure without publication was carried out pursuant to Regulation 33 (1) (b) of the 2015 Regulations. Through this negotiated procedure, the Council has ensured that value for money has been achieved. The Council will not award the contract for the period of at least 10 days from the date of publication of this notice and will also issue a contract award notice

AI AnalysisMembers

Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.

Create free account

£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.

Award Details

Bellway Homes

£17,273,201

Likely incumbents

Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.

1 found
  1. 1

    Bellway - Scotland East

    1 contract wonlatest 25 Sept 2026

    £17m

    total awarded

Bellway - Scotland East is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.

Search for tenders
SponsoredEst. 2010
Gladstone & Co AccountantsTax advisers · East Ham, London

Before you bid, buyers check

two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios

Annual accountsCash-flow forecastsManagement accountsCorporation taxVAT & MTDPayroll & RTIBookkeepingCompany formationSelf-assessmentVirtual FDHMRC enquiriesAuto-enrolmentProperty & landlord taxCharity SORP accounts
Get bid-ready — free 30-min call

Actions

Start free trialto open notice

Create an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.

Open Bid Writer
Built by · Digital studioEst. 2022
Unique
Evolution®

Independent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.

Web DesignSoftware DevelopmentSEO ServicesPromotion
Visit Unique Evolution

How to Apply

Step-by-step submission guide

Submission Portal

Find a Tender

Visit
1

Open the original notice

Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)

2

Check the procedure type

The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply

3

Access the eSourcing portal

FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents

4

Complete the Selection Questionnaire

Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage

5

Submit electronically

Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time

FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.

Buyer Profile

Midlothian Council
Typepublic body
RegionUKM73
Total tenders24
Total spend£79,734,399
View buyer profile

Key Dates

Published

8 June 2026

Submission deadline

Not specified

Notice type

award

Source

find a tender

Similar

Related Tenders

N
Open
ocds-h6vhtk-06f872 · tenderUpdate

Joinery contractors framework

NHS Lanarkshire
worksScotland

NHS Lanarkshire is setting up a Joinery Contractors Framework to supply planned, routine, reactive and emergency joinery work across its hospitals and community sites. The contract is split into three lots based on work value and location, with one‑year emergency cover required.

£Up to £4,300,000
⏱ 19 Oct 2026
Posted · yesterday9d to apply →
A
Open
ocds-h6vhtk-078458 · tender

Angus rural mobility hub - enabling infrastructure works

Angus Council
worksScotland

The project comprises the enabling infrastructure only required for a new Mobility Hub. We are seeking a Main/ Principal Contractor to carry out the enabling infrastructure works f

£Up to £4,650,000
⏱ 9 Nov 2026
Posted · 2d ago29d to apply →
S
Open
ocds-h6vhtk-07834a · tender

Provision of motor control centres, systems integration and ICA services

Scottish Water
worksScotland

Scottish Water is seeking to establish a multi-supplier Framework Agreement for the provision of Motor Control Centres (MCCs), Instrumentation, Control and Automation (ICA), System

£Up to £140,000,000
⏱ 9 Nov 2026
Posted · 3d ago29d to apply →
K
Open
ocds-h6vhtk-077ffc · tender

Kishorn port - phase 1B - east quay development

Kishorn Port Limited
worksScotland

Kishorn Port Limited (KPL) own and operate the drydock facility at Kishorn. The existing drydock has been enlarged with the rock material blasted and removed to reclaim 8.5 hectare

£Up to £30,000,000
⏱ 2 Nov 2026
Posted · 1w ago22d to apply →