Independent Connection Provider (Street-lighting maintenance services) for Southend on Sea 2025
Southend-on-Sea City CouncilEstimated Value
Up to £462,230
Deadline
Not specified
Published
12 December 2025
Type
services
Overview
The above includes street furniture such as street lighting, illuminated bollards, traffic signals etc. to unmetered supplies. Associated civil engineering works such as trench excavation, reinstatement, duct installation and backfilling up to tile tape level are also included.
The aim of this contract is for an Independent Connection Provider to undertake works on the Distribution Network Operator's (DNO) underground cable network. The current DNO for the city of Southend-on-Sea is UK Power Networks.
The contract will be undertaken for Southend-On-Sea City Council, which is a Unitary Local Authority, covering an area of 16.1 square miles and is the largest conurbation in the East of England. Located on the north side of the Thames Estuary approximately 40 miles east of central London, it is bordered to the north by Rochford District Council and to the west by Castle Point Borough Council.
Key points
- Design of connections
- Connections of unmetered supplies
- Disconnections of unmetered supplies
- Transfers of unmetered supplies
- New Connections to unmetered supplies
- Overhead cable connections / transfers / disconnections - to include 3-phase connections to feeder pillars of street furniture including but not limited to street lighting, illuminated bollards, traffic signals, etc, to unmetered supplies. Associated civil engineering works such as trench excavation, reinstatement, duct installation and backfilling up to tile tape level are also included. Additional information: Total contract cost for the maximum 4 year period is: £462,229.60 (excl VAT). Total annual cost of the contract is: £115,557.40 (excl VAT).
Lots (1)
- Lot 1Highway Electrical Connections on DNO/IDNO Networks ('Contestable' Works) Sub-Lot 4 - UK Power Networks (East England) for provision of the following: - Design of connections - Connections of unmetered supplies - Disconnections of unmetered supplies - Transfers of unmetered supplies - New Connections to unmetered supplies - Overhead cable connections / transfers / disconnections - to include 3 phase connections to feeder pillars of street furniture including but not limited to street lighting, illuminated bollards, traffic signals etc
Key dates
- Duration
- 4 years
Additional details
The contracting authority is Southend-on-Sea City Council and any Successor Body meaning one or more entities which assumes any of the Council's functions (as applicable) as a result of Local Government Reform (LGR). Such successor body or bodies may be, without limitation, a local authority, a combined county authority, a strategic authority or any other status determined pursuant to the Devolution and LGR Legislation. The commencement, expiry and extension provisions for the award of this contract are as follows: Commencement Date: 11th March 2026 Expiry Date: 11th March 2028 Extension Period: 12 months + 12 months (total maximum contract duration of 4 years, including extensions to 11th March 2030).
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Award Details
Cable Test Limited
£462,230
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
Southend-on-Sea City CouncilKey Dates
Published
12 December 2025
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
award
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Supply & delivery of various city & guilds training courses & certification
Invitation to Tender for Supply & Delivery of various City & Guilds Training Courses & Certification. Apply via the in-tend procurement portal: https://supplier.in-tend
Independent public voice, challenge and assurance function in support of NHS essex icb's population health improvement programme (PHIP)
This Corrigendum Notice is published to amend the contract end date that used within the Contract details notice that was published on the 2 September 2026, 2:23pm at within the fo
Land maintenance: martlesham parish 2027 - 2030
Martlesham Parish Council is seeking a supplier for a three‑year land‑maintenance service (including bus‑shelter cleaning) starting 1 April 2027, with a possible two‑year extension.
Experts at hand: occupational therapy, inclusion and participation service
'Experts at Hand' is designed to transform how support for children and young people with SEND is delivered, by bringing specialist expertise directly into mainstream early years,
