System operational · UK tenders
planned
ocds-h6vhtk-04e962 · planning

Expansion or provision of new general practitioner medical surgery and associated facilities serving the residents of the Ashingdon Road development, Rochford (SS4)

NHS Mid and South Essex Integrated Care Board

Estimated Value

Up to £262,300

Deadline

Not specified

Published

4 March 2025

Type

services

East of EnglandGBCPV: 85100000
CategoryHealth & social care

Overview

This Intended Approach Notice to follow the Most Suitable Provider Process, pursuant to The Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023 (the Regulations). The Contracting Authority, NHS Mid and South Essex Integrated Care Board (the Authority) is using the most suitable provider process (the Process) as defined by Regulations 6(6) and 10) to award a Land Option (“the Contract”) via a mixed procurement (commencing 25th March 2025), for the development and delivery of a General Practitioner Medical Surgery and associated facilities and services under a General Medical Services (GMS) contract (the Requirement).

The opportunity is deemed to comprise a mixture of in-scope health care services and out-of-scope non-healthcare services. The main subject-matter of the contract is deemed an in-scope health care service because the estimated lifetime value of the health care services being delivered under the MSPs existing GMS contract is higher than the value of the one-off sum associated with the Land Option and associated capital works (non-healthcare services).

The Authority is of the view that separating out the process around selecting an appropriate GP Practice to award the Land Option to, from the selection of a GP Practice to deliver general medical services from the healthcare premises developed on the land would have a materially adverse impact on the Authority’s ability to act in accordance with the procurement principles. Further details of the Authorities assessment leading to the decision to undertake a mixed procurement under PSR can be found in detail at the attached document titled Supplementary Information for the PIN _ Ashingdon Road 04.03.

Key dates

Commences
25th March 2025

Eligibility & compliance

The Most Suitable Provider will be required to source the necessary capital through solutions such as partnering with a specialist healthcare facility developer or some form of borrowings.

Regulations cited

  • The Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023
  • Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023
  • Public Contracts Regulations 2015

Additional details

For avoidance of doubt, this Process will not result in the Authority and the most suitable provider (MSP) entering into a new contract. The Authority is responsible for running the Process as the legal entity responsible for commissioning Primary Medical Services in Mid and South Essex.

The Authority and existing GP Practices that have expressed an initial interest in being considered as the MSP are already within contractual arrangements via each Practice’s existing GMS. Instead, the Process intends to identify and award the opportunity to enter a Land Option with Bloor Homes and Rochford District Council.

The Authority is expecting the council/developer to transfer the land directly to the MSP following the successful conclusion of this exercise. The MSP will be responsible for working with the council to develop the site for delivery under their existing GMS contract.

Further work will be needed as the site develops to amend the MSP's existing contract to reflect any proposed plans (for example, whether it is an additional branch site or a relocation). The development has made a financial contribution of £262,300 available to the MSP that purchases the land, to support the improvement of healthcare services in Rochford, which is the value that has been communicate in this Notice as the estimated total value.

The MSP will be required to source the necessary capital to implement the requirement through solutions such as partnering with a specialist healthcare facility developer or some form of borrowings. No further capital resource is available through the NHS to support build costs.

The estimated lifetime value of the Land Option may be between £3.75m and £5.25m based on an NHS compliant build costing in the region of £5,000-7,000 per square metre. The planning permission shows the land could accommodate a healthcare building of 750m2 plus on-site parking.

The estimated lifetime value of the existing GMS/PMS contract could be between £26m and £99m depending on which Practice is selected (because it is based on the global annual sum of their existing contract and a 45-year contract duration). Under a Section 106 Agreement, Rochford District Council and the developer Bloor Homes have made available an opportunity via a land option (expiring November 2025) and a financial contribution of £262,300, for a local healthcare provider to purchase land at Ashingdon Road for the provision of capital projects to expand existing or provide new general practitioner medical surgery/surgeries and associated facilities that serve or will serve the residents of the Development.

This could be to either relocate existing services or develop a branch surgery premises subject to following appropriate contractual processes for any proposed relocation, including any necessary public engagement as well as compliance with relevant ICB and NHSE governance. The land available can accommodate a healthcare building of 750m2 plus on-site parking.

No further capital resources are available through the NHS to support any build costs. The Authority received authorisation through its Executive Committee in July 24, to identify the Most Suitable Provider (MSP) to take forward this opportunity.

In applying the MSP process, the Authority has considered the five Key Criteria and undertaken appropriate pre-market engagement to update its knowledge of relevant providers including understanding their ability to deliver the Requirement to the relevant local population and connections with other parts of the system. Expressions of interest were sought by the Authority from GP Practices in two Primary Care Networks (PCN), Rayleigh & District, and Rochford.

Four Practices have confirmed provisional interest. The Authority is of the view, taking into account the likely providers, the restrictions placed upon it via the Section 106 and all relevant information available to it at this time, that it is likely to be able to identify the MSP without running a competitive process.

To satisfy the Regulations, the Authority intends to undertake appropriate due diligence to assess the MSP in accordance with Regulation 19 (Basic Selection Criteria) and Regulation 20 (Exclusions) and with reference to the Key Criteria (Regulation 5), ensuring the most suitable provider has the legal and financial capacities and the technical and professional abilities to deliver the Requirement over the term. Additionally, the Authority may hold a structured dialogue session(s) with the MSP to further assess the MSP against the Key Criteria.

As a result of a successful conclusion to such assessment and process, the Authority intends to make a decision to award the proposed Land Option to the MSP. Further details can be found at sections II.2.4) , II.2.14) and VI.3).

Additional information: This is a Provider Selection Regime (PSR) intended approach notice. The awarding of this contract is subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023.

For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Public Contracts Regulations 2015 do not apply. The award decision-maker for this process is NHS Mid and South Essex Integrated Care Board (ICB).

AI AnalysisMembers

Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.

Create free account

£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.

Likely incumbents

Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.

5 found
  1. 1

    Mayflower Healthcare Alliance Limited

    2 contracts wonlatest 13 Aug 2026

    £2m

    total awarded

  2. 2

    Atrom Mindcare Limited

    2 contracts wonlatest 29 Jan 2026

    £2

    total awarded

  3. 3

    Connect Health Limited

    2 contracts wonlatest 11 Jun 2025

    £6m

    total awarded

  4. 4

    ICS OPERATIONS T/A XYLA

    1 contract wonlatest 13 Aug 2026

    £754,752

    total awarded

  5. 5

    Private Therapy Clinic Limited

    1 contract wonlatest 12 Aug 2026CH 08305990

Mayflower Healthcare Alliance Limited is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.

Search for tenders
SponsoredEst. 2010
Gladstone & Co AccountantsTax advisers · East Ham, London

Before you bid, buyers check

two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios

Annual accountsCash-flow forecastsManagement accountsCorporation taxVAT & MTDPayroll & RTIBookkeepingCompany formationSelf-assessmentVirtual FDHMRC enquiriesAuto-enrolmentProperty & landlord taxCharity SORP accounts
Get bid-ready — free 30-min call

Actions

Start free trialto open notice

Create an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.

Open Bid Writer
Built by · Digital studioEst. 2022
Unique
Evolution®

Independent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.

Web DesignSoftware DevelopmentSEO ServicesPromotion
Visit Unique Evolution

How to Apply

Step-by-step submission guide

Submission Portal

Find a Tender

Visit
1

Open the original notice

Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)

2

Check the procedure type

The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply

3

Access the eSourcing portal

FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents

4

Complete the Selection Questionnaire

Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage

5

Submit electronically

Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time

FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.

Buyer Profile

NHS Mid and South Essex Integrated Care Board
Typepublic body
RegionUKH3
Total tenders74
Total spend£934,466,225
View buyer profile

Key Dates

Published

4 March 2025

Submission deadline

Not specified

Notice type

planning

Source

find a tender

Similar

Related Tenders

B
Open
6358716f-7107-4998-a429-e717b4c0f49d · Contract

Supply & delivery of various city & guilds training courses & certification

Bedford Borough Council
servicesEast of EnglandSME friendly

Invitation to Tender for Supply & Delivery of various City & Guilds Training Courses & Certification. Apply via the in-tend procurement portal: https://supplier.in-tend

££11,500
⏱ 23 Nov 2026
Posted · today41d to apply →
N
Open
ocds-h6vhtk-06e839 · tenderUpdate

Independent public voice, challenge and assurance function in support of NHS essex icb's population health improvement programme (PHIP)

NHS Essex Integrated Care Board
servicesEast of England

This Corrigendum Notice is published to amend the contract end date that used within the Contract details notice that was published on the 2 September 2026, 2:23pm at within the fo

£On request
Posted · yesterdayView details →
M
Open
9690b07d-6b5e-4ac4-9caa-251d13193e52 · Contract

Land maintenance: martlesham parish 2027 - 2030

Martlesham Parish Council
servicesEast of EnglandSME friendly

Martlesham Parish Council is seeking a supplier for a three‑year land‑maintenance service (including bus‑shelter cleaning) starting 1 April 2027, with a possible two‑year extension.

££32,000
⏱ 2 Nov 2026
Posted · 4d ago20d to apply →
N
Open
ocds-h6vhtk-0784f0 · tender

Experts at hand: occupational therapy, inclusion and participation service

Norfolk County Council
servicesEast of England

'Experts at Hand' is designed to transform how support for children and young people with SEND is delivered, by bringing specialist expertise directly into mainstream early years,

£On request
⏱ 13 Nov 2026
Posted · 4d ago31d to apply →