Early Years (EY) Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND) Continuous Professional Development (CPD) Provision of Phase 2 Materials and Training
Department for EducationEstimated Value
Up to £23,000,000
Deadline
Not specified
Published
1 July 2026
Type
services
At a glance
- Estimated value
- £23,000,000
- Published
- 1 July 2026
- Location
- England
- Type
- Services
- CPV code
- 80000000 Education and training services
- Likely incumbent
- Ambition Institute,Best Practice Network,Church of Engand,LLSE,Teach First,UCL Consultants Limited,School-Led Development Trust, current contract ends October 2028
- Published on
- Find a Tender
Overview
Value range: Up to £27,600,000 inclusive of VAT. Following the EY SEND CPD Market Engagement in March 2026, the Department launches this deliverable in response to commitments in the 'Every child achieving and thriving' white paper which detailed a series of reforms of the SEND system, including the need for high-quality SEND CPD and the Best Start in Life strategy which commits to making inclusive practice standard practice in the early years.
The Department is looking to procure the development and delivery of a package of new, national, comprehensive continuous professional development (CPD) for all Early Years Practitioners (EYPs) on Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) training materials. Phased delivery of this new training package should start from September 2027 The training should be specific to SEND in early years only, specifically ages 0-4.
It should be available and applicable to all early years practitioners, regardless of qualification level or setting type (Private, Voluntary and Independent (PVIs), school-based nurseries, childminders etc.) and meet government accessibility standards. This procurement will be phase 2 of a programme to improve SEND capability and inclusive practice in EY settings.
Additional details
Phase 1 is being procured for separately and will be in place from September 2026. The supplier will provide Phase 2 of the programme that will include: - A suite of online modules, available to all EYPs and accessible for professionals in the wider EY sector (Best Start Inclusion Practitioners (BSIPs) within Best Start Family Hubs (BSFH), health visitors, Reception teachers, etc.); - Interactive, online webinars centred on the online modules, designed to enhance learning and embed inclusive practice, available to all EYPs with some webinars targeted at specific groups (e.g. childminders, leaders); - A face to face local support offer to share best practice and strengthen local networks.
The Department intends to use the standard award competition process of the RM6219 Learning and Training Services Dynamic Purchasing System (DPS). This is a Government Commercial Agency agreement.
RM6219 applies a 1% GCA (formerly CCS) management fee on supplier sales through the DPS. Crown Commercial Service became Government Commercial Agency on 1 April 2026 Please ensure that you are registered under the “Bespoke training” learning category of the RM6219 Learning and Training Services Dynamic Purchasing System (DPS) before the tender is due to go live 15 July 2026.
If you are not registered you cannot be included in the procurement. The filters applicable to to this procurement are - Coaching & Mentoring, LMS Software, Delivery & Content, Specialist / Niche Quick Supplier Guide can be found within Documents area of this link - https://www.gca.gov.uk/agreements/RM6219 Please ensure that you are also registered on the Department for Education eSourcing Portal Jaggaer.
If you have not yet registered on the eSourcing Portal, this can be done online at https://education.app.jaggaer.com by following the link 'To register click here'. Estimated Timelines (All timings indicative) Procurement Publication of PIN: 01 July Issue of DPS Call off competition: 15 July DPS Call off competition live: 15 July to 04 September Procurement outcome and contract negotiations: October / November 2026 Contract signed: November 2026 Mobilisation & Delivery Initial material development: November/December 2026 - September 2027 First phase of deliverables produced and delivered by: September 2027 All strands of the package must be fully operational and actively delivered, at the latest, by September 2028 Additional information: Links: RM6219 Learning and Training Services Crown Commercial Service (CCS) Dynamic Purchasing System (DPS): https://www.gca.gov.uk/agreements/RM6219 Jaggaer registration link (eSourcing Portal): https://education.app.jaggaer.com
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Recent awards by Department for Education
- Tender for the PE and School Sport Partnership Network
Awarded to Empowering Education International Limited, £875,763,536 · November 2026
- Ossett Academy and Sixth Form
Awarded to Wates Construction · November 2026
- Call-off Contract for the November 2026 cohort of the National Professional Qualifications (NPQs)
Awarded to Ambition Institute,Best Practice Network,Church of Engand,LLSE,Teach First,UCL Consultants Limited,School-Led Development Trust, £26,662,771 · November 2026
- Contract Award Notice Independent review into 2DP fire and structural safety
Awarded to Ove Arup & Partners Ltd, £119,750 · October 2026
- Christ Church Academy
Awarded to McAvoy Modular Offsite Limited, £125,000 · October 2026
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
Ambition Institute,Best Practice Network,Church of Engand,LLSE,Teach First,UCL Consultants Limited,School-Led Development Trust
1 contract wonlatest 1 Nov 2026ends 31 Oct 2028£27m
total awarded
- 2
Someone Else's Eyes,Collingwood Learning with Holocaust Centre North,Board of Deputies of British Jews,NUS Charity
1 contract wonlatest 20 Jul 2026ends 31 Mar 2027£1m
total awarded
- 3
Ambition Institute
1 contract wonlatest 17 Jul 2026 - 4
Royal Society of Biology
1 contract wonlatest 15 Jun 2026ends 31 Mar 2027£45,000
total awarded
- 5
Ambition Institute,UCL Consultants Limited,Best Practice Network,Church of Engand,LLSE,School-Led Development Trust
1 contract wonlatest 8 Jun 2026ends 31 Aug 2028£4m
total awarded
Ambition Institute,Best Practice Network,Church of Engand,LLSE,Teach First,UCL Consultants Limited,School-Led Development Trust is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterHow to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
Department for EducationKey Dates
Published
1 July 2026
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
planning
Source
find a tender
Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
Related Tenders
Voluntary, community and social enterprise support and development service
To provide support for East Riding based VCS groups to resolve issues involving, governance, management, volunteering, leadership, access to funding and any other issues regarding
Taxi and MPV (1-8 seats) passenger assistant - taxi and MPV (1-8 seats) passenger assistant
Vehicle type: Saloon Passenger Assistant Required: Yes Proposed Taxi Route: From: TN38 8BQ To: BN26 6TX Tuesday, BN8 6HQ Thursday Frequency: Tuesday and Thursday only Daily School
Taxi and MPV (1-8 seats) passenger assistant - taxi and MPV (1-8 seats) passenger assistant
Vehicle type: 04 Seat Saloon Passenger Assistant Required: Yes Proposed Taxi Route: From: TN22 2AY To: Acre Wood Secondary, TN6 2AS Frequency: Monday - Friday Daily School Time: 08
A provider is sought to design and deliver training to increase awareness of gambling-related harms. The purpose of the training is to enable staff to identify, respond to and sign
