Digital Histopathology Outsourced Reporting
Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation TrustEstimated Value
Up to £500,000
Deadline
Not specified
Published
24 March 2025
Type
services
Overview
There is a nationally identified shortage of consultant histopathologists, many NHS trusts have difficulty recruiting staff and the existing workforce is ageing. Currently at the Trust there is approximately 30 vacant consultant PAs, with 43% of our consultants over 55.
This level of staffing puts a strain on all diagnostic specialities with the department struggling to meet agreed 2ww reporting targets. In addition, the Authority will expand its case load by approximately 20% in 2024.
Given the situation described above, the Trust intends to outsource approximately 20k cases for digital reporting from November 2024 utilising the digital technology currently in deployment in the Lab, namely the existing LIMS (TCL), a range of whole slide digitisers and a shared instance of a cloud hosted Sectra PACS IDS7 system. The supplier will provide Services as follows: a) The provision of circa 30k digital histopathology diagnostic case reports per annum b) The provision of digitally enabled MDT support for approximately 20 % of these cases, plus holiday cover.
Key dates
- Duration
- 3 years
Additional details
The provision of a fully digital service that requires minimal manual intervention over and above the processes routinely used by the Dept to direct and allocate cases, produce digital images, and produce digital clinical information. The service must be fully integrated, IG compliant digital outsourced reporting service, making use of, through HL7 integration, the Trusts Sectra Histology PACS IDS7 and LIMS (Intersystems TCL), tracking solution and slide scanners, sufficiently to enable seamless viewing of images and clinical information, and reporting and return of reports to the PACS.
The Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (the "Authority") is issuing an invitation to tender ("ITT") in connection with the competitive procurement of Digital Histopathology Outsourced Reporting. The Authority intends to enter into a contract with the successful Bidder on the NHS Terms and Conditions for the Provision of Services (Contract Version).
The initial contract term will be for a period of 3 years with the option to extend by up-to 24 months. This procurement is under the Provider Selection Regime 2024 Competitive Process and is a replacement to an existing service to a new provider.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Award Details
Diagnexia UK Ltd
£500,000
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
Health Now Limited
4 contracts wonlatest 18 Jun 2026 - 2
Medefer Limited
2 contracts wonlatest 14 Sept 2026£3m
total awarded
- 3
Norwich and Norfolk Surgical Ltd t/as N2S
2 contracts wonlatest 30 Apr 2026£12,885
total awarded
- 4
Spire Healthcare Limited
2 contracts wonlatest 4 Mar 2026£738,217
total awarded
- 5
Medinet Clinical Services Limited
1 contract wonlatest 1 Oct 2026£566,302
total awarded
Health Now Limited is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation TrustKey Dates
Published
24 March 2025
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
award
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Supply & delivery of various city & guilds training courses & certification
Invitation to Tender for Supply & Delivery of various City & Guilds Training Courses & Certification. Apply via the in-tend procurement portal: https://supplier.in-tend
Independent public voice, challenge and assurance function in support of NHS essex icb's population health improvement programme (PHIP)
This Corrigendum Notice is published to amend the contract end date that used within the Contract details notice that was published on the 2 September 2026, 2:23pm at within the fo
Land maintenance: martlesham parish 2027 - 2030
Martlesham Parish Council is seeking a supplier for a three‑year land‑maintenance service (including bus‑shelter cleaning) starting 1 April 2027, with a possible two‑year extension.
Experts at hand: occupational therapy, inclusion and participation service
'Experts at Hand' is designed to transform how support for children and young people with SEND is delivered, by bringing specialist expertise directly into mainstream early years,
