System operational · UK tenders
planned
ocds-h6vhtk-077c5c · planning

CDC Phlebotomy Service

East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation Trust

Estimated Value

Up to £151,103

Deadline

Not specified

Published

29 September 2026

Type

services

East of EnglandGBCPV: 85111000
CategoryHealth & social care

Overview

Provider Selection Regime (PSR) Decision and Intention to Award CDC Phlebotomy Service ESNEFT Ref: ESNEFT3317 Provider: Award Route: Report Date: GP Primary Choice PSR Direct Award – Option C 11th August 2026 As of the 1st January 2024 the selection process to identify and award contracts to Providers of healthcare services has been removed from the Public Contract Regulations 2015 and are now part of the new Provider Selection Regime (PSR). This report is to seek approval to award a contract under the PSR procedures.

The PSR process provides greater flexibility than the traditional procurement procedures through a number of routes to award contracts including Direct Awards. Whilst the PSR does offer greater flexibility ESNEFT’s default starting position for the selection of a Provider and award of contracts under PSR is competition and Value for Money.

Service Outline and History Our current contract with GPPC is due to expire on 30 September 2026. Following strategic discussions, ESNEFT has confirmed its intention to bring the Acute Phlebotomy service in house.

Regulations cited

  • Public Contract Regulations 2015
  • Procurement Act 2023

Additional details

To ensure a safe and well-managed transition, we are proposing a six-month Direct Award under PSR option C. This extension will provide sufficient time to complete all transition activities, including the TUPE process for affected staff, handover of equipment and service arrangements, implementation of any in house operational processes, and communication with GPs, patients and any other stakeholders.

It will also enable ESNEFT and GPPC to work collaboratively to develop a coordinated transition plan for the additional services currently delivered by GPPC from the Community Diagnostic Centre, including Dermoscopy and 24 hour ambulatory monitoring. GPPC continues to provide a high-quality service and has consistently met the agreed activity levels, delivering approximately 1,300 blood tests per week.

The proposed extension will ensure continuity of patient care while allowing adequate time to complete the transition to an ESNEFT-delivered service in a safe, effective and sustainable manner. ESNEFT Acute CDC Phlebotomy was originally commissioned by NEE CCG/SNEE ICB as a Variation to their PES contract with GPPC.

In 2023 ESNEFT were informed they would need to commission the service as it would no longer be included in the PES Contract as a variation. At this time the GPPC PES contract was due to expire in late October 2023 and the SNEE ICB intentions post this date had not been defined.

As the service worked well for both parties and the patients within the community benefited from a single delivery location not just for Acute Phlebotomy/Community GP Phlebotomy, they were also delivering other services for MACNEE and Acute. In the interim GPPC were direct awarded a 6-month contract under Waiver with a further 6-month contract under PSR Option C to allow time for SNEE ICB to consider their options on their PES commissioning.

SNEE ICB has a PES contract with GPPC until September 2028. 1 Award Option - For this specific award of contract the decision is to Direct Award contract under route C of the PSR Decision Workflow (Appendix 1). The five (5) Key Criteria for a Direct Award as stated in PSR Regulations Part 1, Section 5 are met as stated below (extracted from PSR End to End Process Mapping Spreadsheet – copy at Enclosure 1):: 1.

Quality and Innovation – GP Primary Choice has consistently delivered a safe and effective Acute CDC Phlebotomy service, undertaking approximately 1,300 blood tests each week whilst maintaining service continuity and working collaboratively with ESNEFT clinical and operational teams. The provider has demonstrated compliance with Trust requirements, embedded local processes and contributed to reliable patient care throughout the contract period. 2.

Value – GP Primary Choice delivers the agreed service within the available contract value and achieved the required activity levels. Their established workforce and operational model have enabled efficient use of the Community Diagnostic Centre. 3.

Integration, collaboration, and service sustainability – GP Primary Choice has worked collaboratively with ESNEFT and primary care, delivering services from the Clacton CDC using integrated processes. The provider also delivers other services from the CDC, including Dermoscopy and elements of the Lung Cancer Screening pathway, enabling coordinated patient care. 4.

Improving access, reducing health inequalities, and facilitating choice – Delivery from the Clacton Community Diagnostic Centre has improved local access to blood testing by providing services closer to patients' homes. This has reduced the need for travel to acute hospital sites and supports earlier diagnosis and treatment across both primary and secondary care pathways. 5.

Social Value – GP Primary Choice employs a local workforce and delivers services from community-based facilities, supporting the local economy and strengthening relationships across primary and secondary care. Their established presence within the CDC contributes to integrated community healthcare delivery.

Recommendation – Direct Award under PSR Option C Contract Management Divisional Contract Owner/Manager: Name: Title: Division: Katie King Assistant General Manager Cancer and Diagnostics (Medical Imaging) What are the key KPIs (minimum of 3) - Detail below. 1. e-Training Compliance - IG 2. e-Training Compliance - Safeguarding 3. e-Training Compliance – IG - Safeguarding BLS 4. Blood Test Appointment Active Summary - This KPI will be reported separately for referrals originating from Primary Care and Secondary Care. 5.

Meet the activity plan of 1300 bleeds per week. 2 Note - Contract will be drafted against NHS Template sub-contract for the provision of clinical services for the use with the NHS Standard Contract which also required National KPIs and Reporting as per NHS Service and General Conditions Does the contract, or draft contract, include a methodology for CM in line with the Contract Management Framework? This will be:  frequency of meetings  types of meetings  named CMs from both parties  general and performance reporting requirements.

Confirm: Yes Note - Contract will be drafted against NHS Template sub-contract for the provision of clinical services for the use with the NHS Standard Contract which includes requirement above Contract Value Value of contract: £151,102.79 Contract Period: 1st October 2026 – 31st March 2027 Is the total value of contract £5m+? No Note – if the contract is formed under Procurement Act 2023 and is £5m+ the contract document has to be loaded onto Atamis and the Central Digital Platform.

Annual updates on performance and any Contract Change Control Notices also need to be uploaded onto Atamis/CDP. Intention to Award/Award Notices Standstill period end of 07 October 2026.

Additional information: PSR Schedule 3 () - Content of notice of intention to award to the existing provider under Direct Award Process C (Award Notice completed after contract award) Note: Intent to Award Notice will be published by Procurement on Find a Tender Site (FTS) and a standstill period of 8 days will follow date 7 October 2026 . If no challenges are received we would then publish a ‘Contract Award Notice’.

If a challenge is forthcoming we will follow the PSR guidance on any representations noting if a provider puts forward and representation remains unsatisfied with the response of the relevant authority (ESNEFT) to its representation and remains of the view that the PSR has not been applied correctly, the provider may submit a representation to the PSR Review Panel. The panel will be an independent panel, made available by NHSE.

AI AnalysisMembers

Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.

Create free account

£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.

Likely incumbents

Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.

5 found
  1. 1

    GP Primary Choice GPPC

    3 contracts wonlatest 10 Apr 2026CH 08486936

    £298,431

    total awarded

  2. 2

    MBI Health limited

    1 contract wonlatest 21 Sept 2026

    £77,500

    total awarded

  3. 3

    Coloplast Limited

    1 contract wonlatest 17 Mar 2026

    £959,430

    total awarded

  4. 4

    The Surgical Consortium Ltd

    1 contract wonlatest 16 Mar 2026

    £139,000

    total awarded

  5. 5

    PERTEMPS MEDICAL LIMITED

    1 contract wonlatest 17 Feb 2026

    £48,400

    total awarded

GP Primary Choice GPPC is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.

Search for tenders
SponsoredEst. 2010
Gladstone & Co AccountantsTax advisers · East Ham, London

Before you bid, buyers check

two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios

Annual accountsCash-flow forecastsManagement accountsCorporation taxVAT & MTDPayroll & RTIBookkeepingCompany formationSelf-assessmentVirtual FDHMRC enquiriesAuto-enrolmentProperty & landlord taxCharity SORP accounts
Get bid-ready — free 30-min call

Actions

Start free trialto open noticeStart free trial to download

Create an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.

Open Bid Writer
Built by · Digital studioEst. 2022
Unique
Evolution®

Independent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.

Web DesignSoftware DevelopmentSEO ServicesPromotion
Visit Unique Evolution

How to Apply

Step-by-step submission guide

Submission Portal

Find a Tender

Visit
1

Open the original notice

Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)

2

Check the procedure type

The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply

3

Access the eSourcing portal

FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents

4

Complete the Selection Questionnaire

Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage

5

Submit electronically

Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time

FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.

Buyer Profile

East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation Trust
Typepublic body
RegionUKH14
Total tenders168
Total spend£262,982,995
View buyer profile

Key Dates

Published

29 September 2026

Submission deadline

Not specified

Notice type

planning

Source

find a tender

Similar

Related Tenders

M
Open
9690b07d-6b5e-4ac4-9caa-251d13193e52 · Contract

Land maintenance: martlesham parish 2027 - 2030

Martlesham Parish Council
servicesEast of EnglandSME friendly

Martlesham Parish Council is seeking a supplier for a three‑year land‑maintenance service (including bus‑shelter cleaning) starting 1 April 2027, with a possible two‑year extension.

££32,000
⏱ 2 Nov 2026
Posted · yesterday23d to apply →
N
Open
ocds-h6vhtk-0784f0 · tender

Experts at hand: occupational therapy, inclusion and participation service

Norfolk County Council
servicesEast of England

'Experts at Hand' is designed to transform how support for children and young people with SEND is delivered, by bringing specialist expertise directly into mainstream early years,

£On request
⏱ 13 Nov 2026
Posted · yesterday33d to apply →
N
Open
ocds-h6vhtk-06bb76 · tenderUpdate

Orthodontic services, hertfordshire 2027/37

NHS Hertfordshire and West Essex Integrated Care Board
servicesEast of England

NHS Hertfordshire and West Essex Integrated Care Board (referred to as the Commissioner) awarded a contract to The Specialist Orthodontic Centre for the provision of Orthodontic Se

£Up to £859,337
Posted · 2d agoView details →
E
Open
ocds-h6vhtk-078126 · tender

Provision of private ambulance services for emergency (a&e/blue light)

East of England Ambulance Service NHS Trust
servicesEast of England

Provision of Private Ambulance Services for Emergency (A&E/Blue Light) The East of England Ambulance Service NHS Trust (EEAST) covers the six counties which make up the East of Eng

£Up to £41,666,666
⏱ 6 Nov 2026
Posted · 5d ago27d to apply →