CDC Phlebotomy service - PSR
East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation TrustEstimated Value
Up to £147,328
Deadline
Not specified
Published
31 October 2025
Type
services
Overview
Our current contract with GPPC is set to expire on 30th September 2025. In previous discussions, we have expressed an interest in extending this contract to align with the end date of GPPC’s agreement with the ICB.
The aim is to synchronise timelines and better align strategic intentions moving forward. We are very satisfied with the service GPPC is providing.
They are consistently exceeding expectations, delivering over 1,300 blood tests per week. The co-location of the blood service across primary and secondary care has proven to be both practical and beneficial.
Additional details
That said, we are also interested in exploring the feasibility of running an in-house pathology service. However, with the upcoming implementation of EPIC in October 2025, we feel now is not the appropriate time to initiate such a change.
To allow us the necessary time to consider a longer-term strategy for delivering the blood service, we are proposing a 6-month PSR award. This would give us the space to evaluate future options, while recognising that GPPC also provide additional services at the CDC, including 24 hour tapes and Dermoscopy
ESNEFT Acute CDC Phlebotomy was originally commissioned by NEE CCG/SNEE ICB as a Variation to their PES contract with GPPC. In 2023 ESNEFT were informed they would need to commission the service as it would no longer be included in the PES Contract as a variation.
At this time the GPPC PES contract was due to expire in late October 2023 and the SNEE ICB intentions post this date had not been defined. As the service worked well for both parties and the patients within the community benefited from a single delivery location not just for Acute Phlebotomy/Community GP Phlebotomy, they were also delivering other services for NEECS and Acute.
In the interim GPPC were direct awarded a 6-month contract under Waiver with a further 6-month contract under PSR Option C to allow time for SNEE ICB to consider their options on their PES commissioning. SNEE ICB have extended their contract PES contract with GPPC until September 2026. Additional information: PSR Direct Award Process C
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Award Details
GP Primary Choice (GPPC)
£147,328
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
GP Primary Choice GPPC
£151,103
total awarded
- 2
MBI Health limited
1 contract wonlatest 21 Sept 2026£77,500
total awarded
- 3
Coloplast Limited
1 contract wonlatest 17 Mar 2026£959,430
total awarded
- 4
The Surgical Consortium Ltd
1 contract wonlatest 16 Mar 2026£139,000
total awarded
- 5
PERTEMPS MEDICAL LIMITED
1 contract wonlatest 17 Feb 2026£48,400
total awarded
GP Primary Choice GPPC is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeStart free trial to downloadCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation TrustKey Dates
Published
31 October 2025
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
award
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Land maintenance: martlesham parish 2027 - 2030
Martlesham Parish Council is seeking a supplier for a three‑year land‑maintenance service (including bus‑shelter cleaning) starting 1 April 2027, with a possible two‑year extension.
Experts at hand: occupational therapy, inclusion and participation service
'Experts at Hand' is designed to transform how support for children and young people with SEND is delivered, by bringing specialist expertise directly into mainstream early years,
Orthodontic services, hertfordshire 2027/37
NHS Hertfordshire and West Essex Integrated Care Board (referred to as the Commissioner) awarded a contract to The Specialist Orthodontic Centre for the provision of Orthodontic Se
Provision of private ambulance services for emergency (a&e/blue light)
Provision of Private Ambulance Services for Emergency (A&E/Blue Light) The East of England Ambulance Service NHS Trust (EEAST) covers the six counties which make up the East of Eng
