Therapeutic Adoption Support Services for Children Placed for Adoption and Adopted, Subject to a Special Guardianship Order/Child Arrangements Order through Durham County Council
Durham County CouncilEstimated Value
Not specified
Deadline
Not specified
Published
11 August 2025
Type
services
Overview
The Council wishes to develop a Select Provider List for Therapeutic Support Services for Children Placed for Adoption and Adopted, Subject to a Special Guardianship Order/Child Arrangements Order through Durham County Council. The Select Provider List has multiple lots as detailed below based on category required: Category 1 Specialist Assessments of Therapeutic Need ("SA") Category 2 Play Therapies Category 3 Creative Therapies Category 4 Therapeutic/Attachment Focused Parenting Support & Programmes Category 5 Therapeutic Life Story work Category 6 Psychotherapy Category 7 Sensory Integration Processing Therapy Category 8 Group Programmes (including training) Providers can bid for one or more Lots.
Further detail in relation to each of the specific 'Category' can be found within ITB 2 Part 1 - Service Specification. This Select Provider List is a flexible framework agreement where, at the sole discretion of the Council, it may open the List to allow additional providers to be added to its membership.
The Council has the discretion to open selected Lots and not all Lots should it choose to. However, at the discretion of the Council, the List may remain closed should commissioners deem there be sufficient members to meet demand.
Key points
- Providers and their therapists will be suitably qualified as determined by the ASGSF to provide a SA.
- The ASGSF determine that a qualified clinician "would be someone who diagnoses and treats patients; is suitably qualified and is licensed to practice via a professional regulatory body".
- The ASGSF limits for a SA for a child in any financial year are set nationally at £2500. The provider's quote for the SA should clearly state the number of sessions and the cost for completion and provision of the final report.
- Feedback to the family and commissioner will be required in the form of report and feedback meetings which must be costed into the ASGSF funding application.
- SA to be provided to the lead social worker for the agency in the first instance. The social worker and the family will utilise the assessment to identify and commission therapeutic intervention if this is recommended and the family wish to proceed at this time.
- The assessment brief will be set out in the ICA.
- For providers who are on the ALP for more than one category including category one, completion of the SA does not result in an automatic referral for the provision of therapy. Additional information: This Select Provider List is a flexible framework agreement where, at the sole discretion of the Council, it may open the List to allow additional providers to be added to its membership. The Council has the discretion to open selected Lots and not all Lots should it choose to. However, at the discretion of the Council, the List may remain closed should commissioners deem there be sufficient members to meet demand. The Council makes no guarantee to any member of the List that they will be awarded any Call-Off Contract and no guarantee is made in respect of any volume of work under any such agreements, or in aggregate under the Select Provider List. Each Provider should understand that their submission constitutes an acceptance to the Council of the terms of the Select Provider List Framework Agreement. A place on the List merely affords the Provider the opportunity to respond to an invitation from the Council for the provision of services (Call-Off). The Select Provider List Framework Agreement provides for no form of exclusivity or volume guarantee by the Council for Services from the Provider and that the Council is at all times entitled to enter into other contracts and agreements with other Providers for the provision of any Services.
Key points
- Including but not exclusive to Theraplay, Filial Therapy and Parent-Child Attachment Play ("PCAP").
- Providers must hold a relevant and accredited qualification.
- In respect to Theraplay, Providers and their therapists will be either fully qualified (completed level 2 and the practicum) or have completed level 1 plus 8 supervised sessions and be operating under clinical supervision.
- Providers and their therapists will be registered in their particular discipline with their professional regulatory body, if using a protected title.
- Providers will provide any resources or equipment required for the service and to support successful delivery of the intervention.
- The service may be required to be delivered in a variety of settings including Provider's premises, the family home child/children's' school.
- Feedback will be required in the form of a review meeting, outcome measures and a report. Additional information: This Select Provider List is a flexible framework agreement where, at the sole discretion of the Council, it may open the List to allow additional providers to be added to its membership. The Council has the discretion to open selected Lots and not all Lots should it choose to. However, at the discretion of the Council, the List may remain closed should commissioners deem there be sufficient members to meet demand. The Council makes no guarantee to any member of the List that they will be awarded any Call-Off Contract and no guarantee is made in respect of any volume of work under any such agreements, or in aggregate under the Select Provider List. Each Provider should understand that their submission constitutes an acceptance to the Council of the terms of the Select Provider List Framework Agreement. A place on the List merely affords the Provider the opportunity to respond to an invitation from the Council for the provision of services (Call-Off). The Select Provider List Framework Agreement provides for no form of exclusivity or volume guarantee by the Council for Services from the Provider and that the Council is at all times entitled to enter into other contracts and agreements with other Providers for the provision of any Services.
Key points
- Including Art Therapy, Music Therapy, Drama Movement Therapy ("DMT"), Lego Therapy, Dance Movement Therapy.
- Providers and their therapists will be registered in their particular discipline with their professional regulatory body, if using a protected title.
- In order to deliver DMT, Providers/their therapists must hold a postgraduate qualification in dance movement therapy, accredited by the Association for Dance Movement Therapy (ADMT) UK.
- Providers will provide any resources or equipment required for the service and to support successful delivery of the intervention.
- The service may be required to be delivered in a variety of settings including Provider's premises, the family home child/children's' school.
- Feedback will be required in the form of a review meeting, outcome measures and a report. Additional information: This Select Provider List is a flexible framework agreement where, at the sole discretion of the Council, it may open the List to allow additional providers to be added to its membership. The Council has the discretion to open selected Lots and not all Lots should it choose to. However, at the discretion of the Council, the List may remain closed should commissioners deem there be sufficient members to meet demand. The Council makes no guarantee to any member of the List that they will be awarded any Call-Off Contract and no guarantee is made in respect of any volume of work under any such agreements, or in aggregate under the Select Provider List. Each Provider should understand that their submission constitutes an acceptance to the Council of the terms of the Select Provider List Framework Agreement. A place on the List merely affords the Provider the opportunity to respond to an invitation from the Council for the provision of services (Call-Off). The Select Provider List Framework Agreement provides for no form of exclusivity or volume guarantee by the Council for Services from the Provider and that the Council is at all times entitled to enter into other contracts and agreements with other Providers for the provision of any Services.
Key points
- Providers and their therapists will be registered in their particular discipline with their professional regulatory body, if using a protected title.
- Providers and their therapists will have a Diploma in Therapeutic Life Story Work or equivalent/relevant training and experience necessary to deliver this work.
- Providers will provide any resources or equipment required for the service and to support successful delivery of the intervention.
- The child's parents will provide the documents provided to them during the adoption process as the resource for Therapeutic Life Story - Child Permanence Report appropriately redacted and any permitted court report summaries or extracts.
- The ICA will detail the extent of file discovery and access required prior to the start of the work and this should inform the therapy plan from the outset to ensure the work is completed within the limits of available information.
- Providers will not have access to Local Authority adoption files which contain details of third parties.
- The service may be required to be delivered in a variety of settings including Provider's premises, the family home child/children's' school.
- Feedback will be required in the form of a review meeting and a report. Additional information: This Select Provider List is a flexible framework agreement where, at the sole discretion of the Council, it may open the List to allow additional providers to be added to its membership. The Council has the discretion to open selected Lots and not all Lots should it choose to. However, at the discretion of the Council, the List may remain closed should commissioners deem there be sufficient members to meet demand. The Council makes no guarantee to any member of the List that they will be awarded any Call-Off Contract and no guarantee is made in respect of any volume of work under any such agreements, or in aggregate under the Select Provider List. Each Provider should understand that their submission constitutes an acceptance to the Council of the terms of the Select Provider List Framework Agreement. A place on the List merely affords the Provider the opportunity to respond to an invitation from the Council for the provision of services (Call-Off). The Select Provider List Framework Agreement provides for no form of exclusivity or volume guarantee by the Council for Services from the Provider and that the Council is at all times entitled to enter into other contracts and agreements with other Providers for the provision of any Services.
Key points
- Including Dyadic Developmental Psychotherapy ("DDP"), Cognitive Behavioural Therapy ("CBT"), Dialectical Therapy (branch of CBT), Mindfulness Cognitive Behavioural Therapy ("MCBT"), Eye Movement Desensitisation and Reprocessing ("EMDR"), Systemic/multi- systemic Therapy, Solution Focused BRIEF Therapy.
- All Providers and their therapists will hold the relevant qualifications to practice with children and young people ("CYP") and will be registered in their discipline with their professional regulatory body, if using a protected title.
- In relation to Psychotherapy, Providers will be appropriately registered with UK Council for Psychotherapy ("UKCP") or the British Psychoanalytic Council ("BPC") or Health and Care Professions Council ("HCPC") for some disciplines.
- In relation to DDP Providers and their therapists will be qualified in DDP to at least Level 2 and receive clinical supervision from a Consultant in DDP and to have completed or be working towards the Practicum.
- In relation to CBT, Providers and their therapists must be qualified to level 2 with the British Association for Behavioural and Cognitive Psychotherapies ("ABCP").
- Providers will provide any resources or equipment required for the service and to support successful delivery of the intervention.
- The service may be required to be delivered in a variety of settings including Provider's premises, the family home child/children's' school.
- The quote must also include the terms and conditions around cancellation, non-attendance, or the individual therapeutic assessment session ending earlier than scheduled by the family.
- Feedback will be required in the form of a review meeting, outcome measures and a report. Additional information: This Select Provider List is a flexible framework agreement where, at the sole discretion of the Council, it may open the List to allow additional providers to be added to its membership. The Council has the discretion to open selected Lots and not all Lots should it choose to. However, at the discretion of the Council, the List may remain closed should commissioners deem there be sufficient members to meet demand. The Council makes no guarantee to any member of the List that they will be awarded any Call-Off Contract and no guarantee is made in respect of any volume of work under any such agreements, or in aggregate under the Select Provider List. Each Provider should understand that their submission constitutes an acceptance to the Council of the terms of the Select Provider List Framework Agreement. A place on the List merely affords the Provider the opportunity to respond to an invitation from the Council for the provision of services (Call-Off). The Select Provider List Framework Agreement provides for no form of exclusivity or volume guarantee by the Council for Services from the Provider and that the Council is at all times entitled to enter into other contracts and agreements with other Providers for the provision of any Services.
Additional details
The Council makes no guarantee to any member of the List that they will be awarded any Call-Off Contract and no guarantee is made in respect of any volume of work under any such agreements, or in aggregate under the Select Provider List. Each Provider should understand that their submission constitutes an acceptance to the Council of the terms of the Select Provider List Framework Agreement.
A place on the List merely affords the Provider the opportunity to respond to an invitation from the Council for the provision of services (Call-Off). The Select Provider List Framework Agreement provides for no form of exclusivity or volume guarantee by the Council for Services from the Provider and that the Council is at all times entitled to enter into other contracts and agreements with other Providers for the provision of any Services.
Category 4 - Therapeutic/Attachment Focused Parenting Support & Programmes • Providers and their therapists will be registered in their particular discipline with their professional regulatory body, if using a protected title. • Providers will have attended training in attachment theory and/or therapeutic parenting, as well as training (and certification) in specific programmes. • Providers will provide any resources or equipment required for the service and to support successful delivery of the intervention. • The service may be required to be delivered in a variety of settings including Provider's premises, the family home child/children's' school, or virtually where appropriate. • Feedback will be required in the form of a review meeting, outcome measures and a report. Additional information: This Select Provider List is a flexible framework agreement where, at the sole discretion of the Council, it may open the List to allow additional providers to be added to its membership.
The Council has the discretion to open selected Lots and not all Lots should it choose to. However, at the discretion of the Council, the List may remain closed should commissioners deem there be sufficient members to meet demand.
The Council makes no guarantee to any member of the List that they will be awarded any Call-Off Contract and no guarantee is made in respect of any volume of work under any such agreements, or in aggregate under the Select Provider List. Each Provider should understand that their submission constitutes an acceptance to the Council of the terms of the Select Provider List Framework Agreement.
A place on the List merely affords the Provider the opportunity to respond to an invitation from the Council for the provision of services (Call-Off). The Select Provider List Framework Agreement provides for no form of exclusivity or volume guarantee by the Council for Services from the Provider and that the Council is at all times entitled to enter into other contracts and agreements with other Providers for the provision of any Services.
Category 7 - Sensory Integration Processing Therapy • Providers will have attended relevant sensory integration training. • Providers will be registered in their particular discipline with their professional regulatory body, if using a protected title. • Providers will provide any resources or equipment required for the service and to support successful delivery of the intervention. • The service may be required to be delivered in a variety of settings including Provider's premises, the family home child/children's' school, or virtually where appropriate. • Feedback will be required in the form of a review meeting, outcome measures and a report. Additional information: This Select Provider List is a flexible framework agreement where, at the sole discretion of the Council, it may open the List to allow additional providers to be added to its membership.
The Council has the discretion to open selected Lots and not all Lots should it choose to. However, at the discretion of the Council, the List may remain closed should commissioners deem there be sufficient members to meet demand.
The Council makes no guarantee to any member of the List that they will be awarded any Call-Off Contract and no guarantee is made in respect of any volume of work under any such agreements, or in aggregate under the Select Provider List. Each Provider should understand that their submission constitutes an acceptance to the Council of the terms of the Select Provider List Framework Agreement.
A place on the List merely affords the Provider the opportunity to respond to an invitation from the Council for the provision of services (Call-Off). The Select Provider List Framework Agreement provides for no form of exclusivity or volume guarantee by the Council for Services from the Provider and that the Council is at all times entitled to enter into other contracts and agreements with other Providers for the provision of any Services.
Category 8 - Group Programmes (including training) • Providers and their therapists must have attended training relevant to group delivery or to a particular group programme. • Providers and their therapists will be registered in their particular discipline with their professional regulatory body, if using a protected title. • Providers will provide any resources or equipment required for the service and to support successful delivery of the intervention. • The service may be required to be delivered in a variety of settings including virtually where appropriate. • Feedback will be required in the form of outcome-based evaluations. Additional information: This Select Provider List is a flexible framework agreement where, at the sole discretion of the Council, it may open the List to allow additional providers to be added to its membership.
The Council has the discretion to open selected Lots and not all Lots should it choose to. However, at the discretion of the Council, the List may remain closed should commissioners deem there be sufficient members to meet demand.
The Council makes no guarantee to any member of the List that they will be awarded any Call-Off Contract and no guarantee is made in respect of any volume of work under any such agreements, or in aggregate under the Select Provider List. Each Provider should understand that their submission constitutes an acceptance to the Council of the terms of the Select Provider List Framework Agreement.
A place on the List merely affords the Provider the opportunity to respond to an invitation from the Council for the provision of services (Call-Off). The Select Provider List Framework Agreement provides for no form of exclusivity or volume guarantee by the Council for Services from the Provider and that the Council is at all times entitled to enter into other contracts and agreements with other Providers for the provision of any Services.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Award Details
Acorn Children & Families Wellbeing Limited
Amber Shield Therapeutic Services
Carolyn Morgan Therapy Services
Easton Care Ltd
Focus Mental Health Solutions
Graeme Rowlings
John Williams Therapy
Laura Elliott
Dr Lauren Baldwin
Nurturing Families
Rachel Ineson Independent Occupational Therapist
Reflection Room Therapy Service
Sharon Summers Sensibility & Untold Stories
Ingrid Ayling Ford
The Bungalow Partnership
Tree Tops Occupational Therapy Limited
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
Harrogate & District NHS Foundation Trust
3 contracts wonlatest 19 Dec 2025£232m
total awarded
- 2
Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust
2 contracts wonlatest 21 May 2025£157m
total awarded
- 3
County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust
1 contract wonlatest 20 Oct 2025£29m
total awarded
- 4
Pioneering Care Partnership
1 contract wonlatest 20 Oct 2025£29m
total awarded
- 5
A Charles Thomas (care) Ltd
Harrogate & District NHS Foundation Trust is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
Durham County CouncilKey Dates
Published
11 August 2025
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
award
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Sunderland alternative provider medical services (APMS)
North of England Commissioning Support (NECS) is a commissioning support service working for and on behalf of NHS North East and North Cumbria Integrated Care Board (the Relevant A
Gb-middlesbrough: planning consultancy services for land disposal
The University is looking for a qualified planning consultant to advise on how best to promote, plan and sell a piece of land on Lacy Road, Middlesbrough for residential development.
Sunderland integrated sexual health service (PSR direct award process C - notice of intention to make an award of a contact to the existing provider)
A contact for the provision of the Sunderland Integrated Sexual Health Services ("the Service") including enabling open access, cost effective and high quality provision of contrac
ANE therapeutic support services
North Tyneside Council, on behalf of Adopt North East (ANE), is reopening a framework to appoint suppliers who can deliver therapeutic parenting courses and high‑level social work assessments for adopted children and families, focusing on trauma and attachment, with the contract running until 2029.
