Estimated Value
Up to £1,901,000
Deadline
Not specified
Published
23 January 2026
Type
Not specified
Overview
Local Authorities in England are required to provide short breaks for disabled children under the Children Act 1989, the Breaks for Carers of Disabled Children Regulations 2011 and the Statutory Guidance on Short Breaks for Disabled Children 2010. This procurement is for the provision of a range of flexible short break services for the benefit of qualifying disabled Children and Young People and Parents, Carers and Families who are referred to the Provider.
The provision will support the designated "North" of the county and is intended to support across geographical areas formed by the local authority areas of Newcastle under Lyme Borough Council, Stafford Borough Council and Staffordshire Moorlands District Council. Provision across other geographical areas of the county is provided by Staffordshire County Council owned premises.
Any premises must be fully registered with Ofsted and the eligibility for Residential Short Breaks requires a diagnosed Learning Disability (LD) or Physical Disability (PD) as the primary need. Consequently, any short break home must be registered under the categories of LD and PD to meet the service requirements.
Regulations cited
- Children Act 1989
- Disabled Children Regulations 2011
- Case Review (England) Regulations 2010
Additional details
Ofsted also encourages local authorities to ensure that short break homes are located in a way that minimises disruption to a child's routine and maintains their connection to the community. Regulation 27A of the Care Planning, Placement and Case Review (England) Regulations 2010 states that Children in Care under 16 cannot be placed in 'other arrangements' for short breaks, except in residential holiday schemes for disabled children or other exempted regulated settings.
Consequently, as some children requiring a short break will be Children in Care, this necessitates that the home provides exclusively for short breaks, and no other types of placements. The requirements have been summarised and captured as: Based on Ofsted research and good practice as detailed above, is that the home must be within 1 hour's drive of the two boroughs and one district it is supporting.
This measure aims to minimise disruption to the child's family and routine, while also ensuring that the child or young person retains a close connection to their home district and community. The provision will be within the boundaries of Staffordshire County Council, which is supported by the intent of the legislation.
Premises must be Ofsted registered and inspected to meet statutory requirements. As a minimum this registration will be under the categories of Learning Disability (LD) and Physical Disability (PD) to meet the service requirements.
There will been a minimum of five registered places to meet potential demand. Be an exclusive provider of short breaks services without any more permanent placements within the property.
Around 45 individual children access the current provision across the North of the county every year. The current annual cost to support this is around £577,000, but this is always subject to funding availability.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Award Details
ACTION FOR CHILDREN
£1,901,000
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
ENVIRO SKIP HIRE LTD
£4m
total awarded
- 2
WILLSHEES WASTE & RECYCLING LIMITED
£3m
total awarded
- 3
DAWKES & CO LIMITED
£8m
total awarded
- 4
J M W SYSTEMS LIMITED
£4m
total awarded
- 5
BIFFA WASTE SERVICES LIMITED
£793,050
total awarded
ENVIRO SKIP HIRE LTD is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
Staffordshire County CouncilKey Dates
Published
23 January 2026
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
award
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Cultural host request
Telford and Wrekin Council would like to establish a contract to provide and support the maintenance of a secure partner portal that allows organisations to upload and update infor
Tender for sensory impairment rehabilitation service in herefordshire
Herefordshire Council is seeking to appoint a suitably qualified and experienced provider to deliver a countywide Sensory Impairment Service for adults aged 18 and over who are liv
Provision of energy performance certificate (EPC) assessments
Platform Housing Limited wants qualified suppliers to carry out Energy Performance Certificate (EPC) assessments for its housing stock in three Midlands regions, split into two priority phases over a 2‑year contract with possible extensions.
The supply of electricity to MOD sites in northern ireland
PROCUREMENT SUMMARY Procedure: Open Procedure under the Procurement Act 2023. Contract Length: 24 Months + 12 Month Extension + 12 Month Extension. Maximum Contract Duration: 48 Mo
