Primary Care Network Direct Enhanced Services (DES) provision for the patients of Friar Gate Surgery, Derby
NHS Derby & Derbyshire Integrated Care BoardEstimated Value
Up to £194,071
Deadline
Not specified
Published
9 March 2026
Type
services
Overview
This notice is placed as a Prior Information Notice (PIN) to inform the market of Derby & Derbyshire Integrated Care Board (ICB) intention to commission Primary Care Network Direct Enhanced Services for the patients of Friar Gate Surgery, Derby. The Commissioner would like to understand the level of provider interest in delivering these services.
See below for further information regarding service and finance. The value stated in II.1.5.1 below includes reimbursement for Additional Roles to support the delivery of the PCN Directed Enhanced Services excluding VAT currently estimated for 26/27.
Once registered please complete the questions which asks providers to give details about your organisation. Please note the deadline for responses and to register your interest is by 1700hrs on 27 March 2026.
Contact & helpdesk
Access to ARRS roles will need to be discussed and agreed with the practice and may include Clinical Pharmacist, First Contact Physio, Social Prescriber etc.
Additional details
This is a Prior Information Notice (PIN) to help ascertain market interest and capability to help shape the procurement strategy going forward. Service details are provided below.
NHS Derby and Derbyshire ICB are inviting expressions of interest from Primary Care Networks and primary care providers to provide the Primary Care Network Directed Enhanced Services (DES) by April 2026 for the patients registered at Friar Gate Surgery in Derby City. The practice has a registered list size of 5,151 (5,029 weighted patients) in January 2025.
The Friar Gate Surgery was previously part of Derby City North PCN until January 2023. The ICB undertook an Expressions of Interest (EOI) for the provision of PCN DES services and commissioned an alternative provider.
Unfortunately, the provider advised that they would not wish to extend the contract beyond April 2025. The ICB has therefore undertaken three EOIs to Derby and Derbyshire PCNs during 2025 which have been unsuccessful.
The ICB has also extended the third EOI to include the cluster ICBs, Nottingham and Nottinghamshire ICB and Lincolnshire ICB which was also unsuccessful. We are therefore extending the EOI to all providers.
The national PCN DES specification for 25/26 Network Contract DES - Contract specification 2025/26 – PCN requirements sets out in Section 8 of this document (from page 40), the details of the PCN services to be provided for the practice population. Please note that this will also be updated to reflect any changes to the national PCN DES and as nationally updated by NHS England from April 2026 onwards.
PCN funding for the practice population will be provided based on the national allocations to deliver the PCN DES contractual requirements including Enhanced Access and Enhanced Health in Care Homes. The practice has an 80-bed care home aligned to the practice.
The service will need to commence by 1st April 2026 (date to be agreed with successful PCN) with a contract end date of 31st March 2027 with an option to extend annually in line with the national GP contract for PCNs. The financial envelope will include an indicative allocation for a workforce plan to be agreed with the practice on the Additional Roles to support the delivery of the PCN Directed Enhanced Service.
The financial envelope will be updated as at January 2026 and annually thereafter. Please note that should the practice successfully join a PCN then the services and PCN DES funding for the practice population will transfer as part of this process.
There will need to be a requirement that any interested provider is registered with CQC and has a CQC good rating. Any interested provider will need to deliver all of the PCN DES services within the national PCN DES funding excluding the PCN DES participation payment.
The finance is as follows: PCN Core Funding = £14,881 Enhanced Access £8.523 per PCN adjusted = £47,062 Care Home £130.253 per Bed = £10,420 ARRS roles up to £26.31 based on weighted adjusted population as per the national ready reckoner to deliver PCN DES services = £121,708 estimated (tbc) Total = £194,071 (estimated - to be confirmed) The Contracting Authority will be using an eTendering system for this market engagement exercise.
To express an interest and access the questionnaire go to the ‘Live Opportunities’ list on the e-tendering portal at the following link: https://health-family-contract-search.secure.force.com/?s... You can search for the opportunity by entering the following contract reference: C429361 Primary Care Network Direct Enhanced Services (DES) provision for Friar Gate Surgery, Derby. Once registered please complete the questions which asks providers to give details about your organisation. Please note the deadline for responses and to register your interest is by 1700hrs on 27 March 2026.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
Primary Eyecare Services
1 contract wonlatest 11 Jun 2026£4m
total awarded
- 2
Audiological Science Ltd
1 contract wonlatest 27 Jan 2026£24m
total awarded
- 3
Scrivens Ltd
1 contract wonlatest 27 Jan 2026£24m
total awarded
- 4
Specsavers Hearcare
1 contract wonlatest 27 Jan 2026£24m
total awarded
- 5
Community Health and Eyecare Ltd
1 contract wonlatest 27 Jan 2026£24m
total awarded
Primary Eyecare Services is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeStart free trial to downloadCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
NHS Derby & Derbyshire Integrated Care BoardKey Dates
Published
9 March 2026
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
planning
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Hospital pharmacy services (HPS)
This contract is for providing the pharmacy part of the COVID‑19 Medicines Delivery Unit (CMDU) pathway, including clinical reviews, dosing checks, patient counselling and urgent supply of oral COVID‑19 treatments for high‑risk patients, and is being awarded directly to the current provider for the period 1 April 2026 to 30 September 2027.
North northamptonshire council - nightly purchased, supplier managed temporary accommodation
North Northamptonshire Council is seeking a supplier to provide and manage nightly‑paid temporary accommodation, aiming to reduce hotel use, keep placements within the council area, improve accommodation standards and increase income from council‑owned properties.
All-age early intervention and prevention service for eating disorders
The contract is for a county‑wide, community‑based early‑intervention and prevention service for all‑age eating disorder presentations, including support for families and carers. It is being awarded directly to an existing provider by the Integrated Care Board for a two‑year period (March 2027‑March 2029).
Private ambulance service (PAS) 2027
East Midlands Ambulance Service NHS Trust is hiring private ambulance providers to deliver double‑crewed, blue‑light ambulance services in four regional lots, starting April 2027 for up to 24 months.
