Onsite Direct Wire Power Purchase Agreement Pilots
Defence Infrastructure OrganisationEstimated Value
Up to £246,913,129
Deadline
Not specified
Published
15 April 2026
Type
Not specified
Overview
Objectives: The Ministry of Defence (MOD) is seeking Power Purchase Agreements (PPA) to reduce unit electricity costs, increase site energy resilience, limit price volatility risk from its energy portfolio, and support emissions reduction aligned with Government policy. PPA Type: Renewable energy supply for up to five sites via on-site direct wire connection.
Target start date: Target contract start date 31/03/28. Volume: Procure power generation to meet up to approximately 4–12 GWh/year of combined electricity consumption across the portfolio of sites.
Provision of higher offtake volumes is dependent on the ability to demonstrate value for money in energy costs achieved and resilience provision. The site portfolio is expected to have a total annual demand of approximately 35 GWh/year.
Additional details
The details provided in this notice are early indicative estimates and may be subject to change/refinement based on final site selection and ongoing data collection. Sites: Potential sites may include up to five sites suitable for on-site, direct wire connection utilising MOD land in the South of England, shortlisted from a longlist of ~30 identified sites throughout the UK.
Contract duration: Seeking competitive energy prices for up to 25 years, with potential option to extend. The estimated contract dates are 31/03/28 to 30/03/53.
Technology: Open to competitive proposals for Renewable Energy Guarantees of Origin (REGO) compliant technologies, with technology choice subject to site-by-site requirements and MOD review. Previous market engagement: A virtual two‑hour supplier engagement session was held on 04/03/2025 to test early market views on high‑level PPA options and to support MOD’s understanding of market capabilities. Suppliers expressed strong appetite to engage and highlighted key considerations including avoiding over‑specification, clarifying roles and responsibilities, and addressing grid‑connection and MOD site factors that will shape the delivery approach.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
TROPICAL HOLDINGS LADYVILLE LTD
3 contracts wonlatest 24 Jun 2026ends 31 Mar 2027£1m
total awarded
- 2
KPMG LLP
£600,000
total awarded
- 3
Forsters LLP
£243,000
total awarded
- 4
Massutera Engineering Sdn Bhd
2 contracts wonlatest 31 Jul 2025ends 9 Jul 2028BND 735,925
total awarded
- 5
Veolia Water Outsourcing Limited
£2m
total awarded
TROPICAL HOLDINGS LADYVILLE LTD is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
Defence Infrastructure OrganisationKey Dates
Published
15 April 2026
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
planning
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Cultural host request
Telford and Wrekin Council would like to establish a contract to provide and support the maintenance of a secure partner portal that allows organisations to upload and update infor
Tender for sensory impairment rehabilitation service in herefordshire
Herefordshire Council is seeking to appoint a suitably qualified and experienced provider to deliver a countywide Sensory Impairment Service for adults aged 18 and over who are liv
Provision of energy performance certificate (EPC) assessments
Platform Housing Limited is seeking to appoint suitably qualified and experienced suppliers to deliver Energy Performance Certificate (EPC) assessments across our operational areas
The supply of electricity to MOD sites in northern ireland
PROCUREMENT SUMMARY Procedure: Open Procedure under the Procurement Act 2023. Contract Length: 24 Months + 12 Month Extension + 12 Month Extension. Maximum Contract Duration: 48 Mo
