System operational · UK tenders
closed
1d3281d0-7d39-4030-b588-8be98abe7bb7 · planning

Online Schools Quality Assurance - Prior Information Notice

Department for Education

Estimated Value

Not specified

Deadline

Not specified

Published

8 October 2019

Type

Not specified

SME SuitableVCSE SuitableGBCPV: 80200000
CategoryEducation & training

Overview

SHORT DESCRIPTION OF SERVICES: The purpose of this Prior Information Notice (PIN) is to notify the market of the Department for Education's (DfE) intention to undertake a procurement exercise to appoint a suitably experienced Quality Assurance Body to inspect online schools as announced in the consultation on online schools published on 5 September 2019. More details of the consultation can be found here: https://consult.education.gov.uk/independent-education-di... DESCRIPTION OF SERVICES : A feasibility study has taken place to look at the possibility of a voluntary accreditation and registration scheme for online schools.

There is a growing market of online schools in England, who offer a full curriculum, and/or represent a child's main or only source of formal education. The sector is developing rapidly and now encompasses a wide range of providers.

The number of children educated by online providers is relatively small as a proportion of the school system as a whole, but the sector is expanding and forms a major part of non-standard education provision. As a result of the consultation in to online schools the DfE intend to launch a voluntary registration scheme for online schools providers.

Contact & helpdesk

Bidders who are not already registered on the portal can register here: https://education.app.jaggaer.com For any assistance required in registering bidders should contact the Jaggaer helpdesk: help_UK@jaggaer.com This Prior Information Notice is for information only and is not a call for competition.

Additional details

Online schools providers will have to meet certain standards, similar to those for independent schools in England, in order to be accredited by the DfE. The DfE are seeking to appoint a Quality Assurance Body that will carry out inspections against the non-statutory online school standards (OSS), and report to the department on their findings.

We anticipate that online schools will be re-inspected within a four year period to allow their accreditation to continue. The competitive process to appoint a Quality Assurance Body will result in a concession contract being awarded, for a proposed period of at least two years, with the successful provider carrying out the QA inspections for DfE during this period.

The value of the contract will become clear during the procurement process. It is proposed that there will be no payment by the DfE for this work; the funding for the successful bidder will derive from the fee structure agreed to be charged to online schools and the number of schools joining the scheme.

Additional information: ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: A Market Engagement Webinar was hosted by the DfE on 25 September 2019. As part of the engagement event one-to-one 15 minute surgeries were held by appointment with the relevant interested parties.

The event allowed DfE to gain a greater understanding of the market and potential solutions to shape the service and any contract that it will procure. The Q&A information pack from the event can be accessed at the top of this section.

(see attachment 'Online schools QA Final') Indicative dates for procurement: (Please note: these timescales are indicative and are subject to change at DfE's absolute discretion.) - September 2019 - Early Market Engagement - October/November 2019 - Publish Invitation To Tender (ITT) - January/February 2020 - Indicative contract award The DfE intends to utilise a single stage open procedure (under the Light Touch Regime) to award a concession contract. Further information on the procurement process will be provided during the market engagement activity.

SCHEDULED DATE FOR PUBLICATION OF CONTRACT NOTICE: October/November 2019 START AND END DATES OF THE CONTRACT: February/March 2020 - February/March 2022 The DfE will be administering the procurement process electronically via the DfE e-Tendering Portal; Jaggaer. No hard copy documents will be issued and all communications with DfE (including final submission of tenders) will be conducted via the Jaggaer Portal.

The Department reserves the right not to enter a formal procurement process and not award contract(s). Accordingly, the Authority will not be liable for any bid cost, expenditure, work or effort incurred by a supplier in acting on the basis of this notice.

AI AnalysisMembers

Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.

Create free account

£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.

Search for tenders
SponsoredEst. 2010
Gladstone & Co AccountantsTax advisers · East Ham, London

Before you bid, buyers check

two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios

Annual accountsCash-flow forecastsManagement accountsCorporation taxVAT & MTDPayroll & RTIBookkeepingCompany formationSelf-assessmentVirtual FDHMRC enquiriesAuto-enrolmentProperty & landlord taxCharity SORP accounts
Get bid-ready — free 30-min call

Actions

Start free trialto open notice

Create an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.

Open Bid Writer
Built by · Digital studioEst. 2022
Unique
Evolution®

Independent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.

Web DesignSoftware DevelopmentSEO ServicesPromotion
Visit Unique Evolution

How to Apply

Step-by-step submission guide

Submission Portal

Contracts Finder

Visit
1

Open the original notice

Click the button below to view this tender on Contracts Finder

2

Find the submission method

Look for "How to apply" section — most tenders link to an eSourcing platform (e.g. In-Tend, ProContract, Jaggaer)

3

Create an account

Register on the eSourcing platform for free — you'll need a company email and DUNS number

4

Download tender documents

Download the ITT (Invitation to Tender), specification, pricing schedule, and any templates

5

Submit your response

Upload completed documents through the portal before the deadline — late bids are automatically rejected

Most buyers do NOT accept email submissions. You must submit through their eSourcing platform. Check the notice for the exact link.

Buyer Profile

Department for Education
Typepublic body
RegionNorth East,North West,Yorkshire and The Humber,East Midlands,West Midlands,East of England,London,South East,South West
Total tenders349
Total spend£25,941,053,500
View buyer profile

Key Dates

Published

8 October 2019

Submission deadline

Not specified

Notice type

planning

Source

contracts finder

Similar

Related Tenders

S
Open
ocds-r6ebe6-0000844988 · Website Contract Notice

International pitching support framework

Scottish Enterprise
servicesGlasgow

Scottish Enterprise is looking for one supplier to set up a Framework Agreement that will deliver Pitching Support Services, helping businesses prepare and present investment pitches, starting in November 2026 for up to 24 months.

£Up to £157,000
⏱ 2 Nov 2026
Posted · 2d ago19d to apply →
S
Open
ocds-r6ebe6-0000845114 · Website Contract Notice

Provision OF neurodiversity bespoke training course

Scottish Legal Aid Board
servicesEdinburgh

The L&D team is seeking an experienced training provider to design and deliver neurodiversity awareness and inclusion training for managers and employees. The aim of this programme

£On request
⏱ 5 Nov 2026
Posted · 1w ago22d to apply →
T
Open
ocds-r6ebe6-0000842897 · Website Contract Notice

Inclusive recruitment training workshops for recruitment managers

The City of Edinburgh Council
servicesWithin The City of Edinburgh and it's boundaries

The City of Edinburgh Council wants to hire a specialist equalities training provider to design and run custom Inclusive Recruitment workshops for its hiring managers, which will be mandatory before any recruitment takes place.

£Up to £160,000
⏱ 26 Oct 2026
Posted · 2w ago12d to apply →
C
Open
ocds-r6ebe6-0000842770 · Website Contract Notice

Management capability programme - delivery partner

Crown Estate Scotland
servicesEdinburgh

The contract is for a training provider to work with the government’s Learning and Development Team to design, develop and deliver the Management Essentials training programme for public‑sector managers.

£Up to £160,000
⏱ 16 Oct 2026
Posted · 1mo ago2d left →