NHSE(East of England)Healthcare Services Norfolk prisons & L&D Norfolk & Suffolk. Primary Care HMP Bure and HMP Wayland
NHS EnglandEstimated Value
Up to £7,082,338
Deadline
Not specified
Published
30 March 2026
Type
services
Overview
This notice is confirmation of an urgent award under Regulation 14 having been made due to unforeseeable circumstances not attributable to the Relevant Authority. The services are healthcare services at HMP Norwich, HMP Bure, HMP Wayland and are to ensure uninterrupted access to essential primary care, mental health, and substance misuse services in a high risk custodial environment, while giving commissioners the stability needed to design a robust longer term commissioning plan.
The contract period is for 12 months -commencing on 1st April 2026 until 31st March 2027 with an option to extend for a further period of up to 12 months Total contract value is £7082337.50.
Additional information: This contract has been awarded under Regulation 14 urgent circumstances provision of the Provider selection Regime (PSR). This contract has been awarded under the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations2023.
Key dates
- Commences
- 1st April 2026
Regulations cited
- Procurement Act Regulations 2023
Additional details
For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Procurement Act Regulations 2023 do not apply to this award. Justification for Urgent Award: NHS England has a statutory duty to commission healthcare services in places of detention; failure to award this contract would be a breach of this duty and result in harm to this vulnerable patient group as there would be no alternative accessible healthcare services.
The rationale for selecting the proposed provider is that as the incumbent provider they would be able to continue the service delivery with no interruptions. No other provider could safely mobilise without increasing risk to patients.
Alternative providers would not be able to mobilise safely in less than 2 months given the complexity and likely staffing issues that would be caused by a change in provider. All staff need to have security clearance which takes 6-8 weeks meaning there is insufficient time for a new provider to mobilise a workforce to deliver services from 1st April 2026.
Justification for Contract Length: The contract period is for 12 months -commencing on 1st April 2026 until 31st March 2027 with an option to extend for a further period of up to 12 months to ensure the continuity of essential services while NHS England concludes a live competitive process in accordance with the Provider selection Regime (PSR). A 12 month duration is required to ensure sufficient time and ability to:• conclude an ongoing/live competitive process• allow to safely mobilise future service arrangements, minimising transition risks and protecting patient safety.
Given the scale and pace of ongoing transformation across NHS organisations, any transition to new contractual arrangements carries an inherent risk of disrupting service continuity. Such disruption may compromise commissioners’ ability to effectively manage change and increases the likelihood of critical processes being overlooked, which could ultimately place patients at risk. This decision was approved by Public Health Oversight Group on 9thFebruary, 2026 There are no conflicts or potential conflicts of interest.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Award Details
Practice Plus Group
£7,082,338
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
4 contracts wonlatest 22 Sept 2026£780m
total awarded
- 2
The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
4 contracts wonlatest 22 Sept 2026£794m
total awarded
- 3
CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY HOSPITALS NHS FOUNDATION TRUST
3 contracts wonlatest 7 Jul 2026£18m
total awarded
- 4
OXFORD UNIVERSITY HOSPITALS NHS FOUNDATION TRUST
3 contracts wonlatest 7 Jul 2026£32m
total awarded
- 5
MDSAS LTD
3 contracts wonlatest 19 Feb 2026£1m
total awarded
Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
NHS EnglandKey Dates
Published
30 March 2026
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
award
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Public health pharmacy pseudo-dynamic purchasing system (PDPS) round 9
This notice is in relation to the publish of the onboarding round of the Public Health Pharmacy Pseudo-Dynamic Purchasing System (PDPS) (Round 9). The service specification set out
Healthy lives dynamic purchasing vehicle - category 4 round 13 - onboarding
This is an opening of the Onboarding Round 13 for Category 4 - Addressing resource inequality Rounds will open and close throughout the lifetime of the Healthy Lives Dynamic Purcha
Healthy lives dynamic purchasing vehicle - category 3 round 14 - onboarding
This is an opening of the Onboarding Round 14 for Category 3 - Community projects for health and wellbeing Rounds will open and close throughout the lifetime of the Healthy Lives D
Healthy lives dynamic purchasing vehicle - category 2 round 14 - onboarding
This is an opening of the Onboarding Round 14 for Category 2 - Specialist all-age weight management and movement service Rounds will open and close throughout the lifetime of the H
