National Retraining Scheme (NRS) Digital Partners - Package 1
Department for EducationEstimated Value
Not specified
Deadline
Not specified
Published
8 January 2020
Type
Not specified
Overview
The purpose of this Prior Information Notice (PIN) is to provide new and updated information on the competition to appoint suppliers to deliver the National Retraining Scheme (NRS) digital roadmap. Please also see the PIN published on 22 August 2019 via Contract Finder 2019/S 163-400609.
This PIN is not a call for competition. This PIN is intended to provide an update to all potential suppliers as follows: 1.
Inform potential suppliers of a change to the route to market from OJEU to Digital Outcomes & Specialists (DOS) 4 Framework. The currently planned NRS product pipeline will be spilt into a number of separate packages; each package comprising a set of digital products and phases to be commissioned via the DOS framework.
Eligibility & compliance
Bidders must meet the following outline criteria (further details and specific criteria will be defined at ITT stage): - Comply with the technology code of practice (https://www.gov.uk/service-manual/technology/code-of-prac...). - Work according to the government service design manual (https://www.gov.uk/service-manual). - Have the experience and capability to work on all or a number of discovery, alpha, beta, live or retirement phases as outlined in the government service design manual (https://www.gov.uk/service-manual). - Capability and experience of Government digital assessments across all or a number of phases of discovery, alpha, beta and live. - The ability to work at either of DfE's London or Manchester offices.
Additional details
It is expected that contract(s) will be awarded to a single legal entity for the entirety of delivery of each package. A lead supplier will be appointed for each DOS call off contract to deliver specific digital requirements which will be clearly defined in the invitation to tender.
Whilst the lead organisation may sub-contract certain elements of its service delivery with the Authority's consent (and consortia bids will be permitted), a single legal entity must execute the contract with the Department. 2. To inform potential suppliers that the DOS advert for the first call off opportunity is estimated to be published via the Digital Marketplace in early/mid-January 2020.
The requirement will be to appoint a supplier, who will be responsible for the resource, delivery, management and associated services for the following digital outcomes and products: a. Get Help to Retrain (Public Beta) b.
An Alpha phase for Find and Apply for a Job c. A Private Beta phase for Find and apply for a Job; and d.
A Public Beta phase for Find and Apply for a Job 3. The Authority will award a single contract to a lead supplier assessed as having the capability and capacity to deliver all resources, required for the phases and products above within an Agile Service Delivery environment. 4.
The opportunities for the remaining NRS products and phases will be advertised at a later stage. Additional information: 1.
Background The National Retraining Scheme is the government's new programme to help adults retrain into better jobs and be ready for future changes to the economy, including those brought about by automation. By helping adults to retrain into better jobs, the scheme will also help to meet the needs of businesses for a multi-skilled workforce in the future.
To support the development of the scheme, the Government announced funding of £100 million in the Autumn Budget 2018. This is for the continued testing and development of the scheme, as well as delivering the first parts of the scheme to the public.
This scheme will be available to citizens and businesses in England. 2. Estimated total value circa. £6m for DOS Package 1 - Get Help to Retrain (GHtR) and Find & Apply for a Job This is an estimate at this stage and is subject to governance and budget approvals, including future Spending Review processes, as well as changes driven by further iterations to the product roadmap.
Please see the ITT for further details. 3. Duration of the framework agreement: The term of the contract for delivery of the digital outcomes listed at 2a-d above will be up to 2 years.
We estimate that delivery of the first product will be in April/May 2020. 4. Description of the procurement The bidders will have the capability to research, test, design, build, release, iterate, support or retire a digital service. Other DfE offices may be used to deliver future products if required at the time of bringing products on stream.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
Mutual Ventures Ltd
2 contracts wonlatest 8 Sept 2025£1m
total awarded
- 2
Engine Partners UK LLP (Transform)
1 contract wonlatest 18 Sept 2026£9m
total awarded
- 3
Someone Else's Eyes,Collingwood Learning with Holocaust Centre North,Board of Deputies of British Jews,NUS Charity
1 contract wonlatest 20 Jul 2026ends 31 Mar 2027£1m
total awarded
- 4
Ambition Institute
1 contract wonlatest 17 Jul 2026 - 5
School-Led Development Trust
£9m
total awarded
Mutual Ventures Ltd is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Contracts Finder
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view this tender on Contracts Finder
Find the submission method
Look for "How to apply" section — most tenders link to an eSourcing platform (e.g. In-Tend, ProContract, Jaggaer)
Create an account
Register on the eSourcing platform for free — you'll need a company email and DUNS number
Download tender documents
Download the ITT (Invitation to Tender), specification, pricing schedule, and any templates
Submit your response
Upload completed documents through the portal before the deadline — late bids are automatically rejected
Most buyers do NOT accept email submissions. You must submit through their eSourcing platform. Check the notice for the exact link.
Buyer Profile
Department for EducationKey Dates
Published
8 January 2020
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
planning
Source
contracts finder
Related Tenders
Seaton sluice welfare playpark replacement 2026
Seaton Valley Community Council seeks a contractor to design, supply and install a complete replacement inclusive playpark at the Welfare Park on Beresford Road, Seaton Sluice, for
002468 - Contract for fleet equipment maintenance and potential repair
Durham County Council (DCC) have a requirement for the ongoing maintenance, calibration, and potential repair of all workshop equipment across all four of their workshops. The flee
Managed IT and cyber security service provider - pre-qualification (stage 1 of 2)
North East Autism Society (NEAS), a North East England charity, is seeking to appoint a Managed Service Provider (MSP) to deliver managed IT and cyber security services across the
FC - TPPLPSBUS01 - purchase of 6x coachbuilt buses
The contract is for the purchase of six new coach‑built buses to replace ageing vehicles used in a community transport service. It is aimed at suppliers who can provide suitable, road‑legal buses for public transport purposes.
