Estimated Value
Up to £1
Deadline
Not specified
Published
22 September 2026
Type
Not specified
Overview
The National Parking Platform (NPP) aggregates parking service providers and facilitates the use by consumers of a wide range of payment providers when parking at locations operated by Birmingham City Council. The platform enables motorists to pay for parking using their preferred parking application and provides a common interface between Birmingham City Council and participating parking payment providers.
Under the agreement, the National Parking Platform Limited provides access to and operation of the National Parking Platform, associated integration services and ongoing platform support. The contract provides for reciprocal consideration of £1 between the parties with no other fees payable by either party under the agreement.
The National Parking Platform Limited is currently the only organisation operating the National Parking Platform and is the recipient of intellectual property and associated assets developed through the Department for Transport's National Parking Platform programme. Birmingham City Council considered that a direct award was justified pursuant to section 41 and Schedule 5 of the Procurement Act 2023.
Regulations cited
- Procurement Act 2023
Additional details
Birmingham City Council awarded this contract by way of a direct award pursuant to Section 41 and Schedule 5, Paragraph 6 (Single Supplier) of the Procurement Act 2023. The Council determined that NATIONAL PARKING PLATFORM LIMITED was the only organisation capable of providing access to, operating and supporting the National Parking Platform, including the associated integration services required to enable interoperability between the Council's parking estate and participating parking payment providers.
The Council's assessment concluded that only NATIONAL PARKING PLATFORM LIMITED held the necessary rights, assets, intellectual property and operational control of the National Parking Platform necessary to deliver the required services. On this basis, the Council relied upon the single supplier direct award ground available under Schedule 5 of the Procurement Act 2023.
Following award, the Council undertook a review of the procurement file and associated transparency requirements. Information relating to the award, including details of the supplier, contract value, contract term and the justification supporting the procurement approach, was published through Contracts Finder in order to promote transparency and provide visibility of the award decision.
To further enhance transparency and maintain a complete procurement record, the Council is publishing this Contract Details Notice. Publication of this notice provides additional visibility of the contract arrangement and the basis upon which the award decision was made.
This notice is published in the interests of openness, transparency and good procurement governance and does not alter the underlying procurement decision. The Council retains a documented procurement justification supporting reliance on the single supplier direct award provisions and remains satisfied that the procurement represented an appropriate and proportionate means of securing continued access to the National Parking Platform and associated services. The publication of this Contract Details Notice is intended to provide a clear and comprehensive record of the contract and to further mitigate any residual transparency risk associated with the award.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Award Details
NATIONAL PARKING PLATFORM LIMITED
£1
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
Haystoun Construction Ltd
£5m
total awarded
- 2
Claremont Living Group Limited
3 contracts wonlatest 4 Jun 2026ends 30 Jun 2032£356m
total awarded
- 3
Oracle Corporation UK Limited
2 contracts wonlatest 30 Sept 2026ends 8 Oct 2027£58,480
total awarded
- 4
R W SERVICES CONTRACTORS LIMITED
£5m
total awarded
- 5
Marston Holdings Ltd
2 contracts wonlatest 8 Sept 2026ends 31 Jan 2031£71m
total awarded
Haystoun Construction Ltd is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
Birmingham City CouncilKey Dates
Published
22 September 2026
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
award
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Cultural host request
Telford and Wrekin Council would like to establish a contract to provide and support the maintenance of a secure partner portal that allows organisations to upload and update infor
Tender for sensory impairment rehabilitation service in herefordshire
Herefordshire Council is seeking to appoint a suitably qualified and experienced provider to deliver a countywide Sensory Impairment Service for adults aged 18 and over who are liv
Provision of energy performance certificate (EPC) assessments
Platform Housing Limited is seeking to appoint suitably qualified and experienced suppliers to deliver Energy Performance Certificate (EPC) assessments across our operational areas
The supply of electricity to MOD sites in northern ireland
PROCUREMENT SUMMARY Procedure: Open Procedure under the Procurement Act 2023. Contract Length: 24 Months + 12 Month Extension + 12 Month Extension. Maximum Contract Duration: 48 Mo
