Intended Approach Notice (PSR MSP): Workflow for NHS Labs delivering SCID and SMA ISEs (SPOT-it Methodology)
NHS EnglandEstimated Value
Up to £2,429,264
Deadline
Not specified
Published
6 March 2026
Type
services
Overview
NHS England is looking to procure the national delivery of SPOTit methodology for SCID - and the addition of SMA in-service evaluations (ISEs) - within the NHS Newborn Blood Spot (NBS) Screening Programme. This is a Provider Selection Regime (PSR) Intended Approach Notice.
This notice is subject to Regulation 10 of the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023. For the avoidance of doubt, this is not a procurement via PA23 or PCR 2015.
NHS England is releasing this Intended Approach Notice as per the Provider Selection Regime (PSR) using the Most Suitable Provider route. As per schedule 5 under Regulation 10 of the PSR, please see the following information below:
Regulations cited
- Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023
Contact & helpdesk
Should you wish to be considered, written representations should be sent to england.commercialqueries@nhs.net, ensuring the following details are referenced:
Additional details
NHS England is intending to follow the Most Suitable Provider Process to award a contract. The contract title: Workflow for NHS Labs delivering SCID and SMA ISEs (SPOT-it Methodology).
The contract reference: C429613. The aim is for NHS England to procure SPOT-it Methodology Screening Labs delivering and implementing the ongoing NHS Newborn Blood Spot in-service evaluation (ISE) for Severe Combined Immuno-Deficiency (SCID), with the addition of the ISE for Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA).
This procurement maintains national delivery of SPOTit methodology for SCID and the addition of SMA in-service evaluations (ISEs) within the NHS Newborn Blood Spot (NBS) Screening Programme. This contract has not yet formally been awarded; this notice serves as an intended approach notice under the PSR.
Project reference: C429613 Project title: Workflow for NHS Labs delivering SCID and SMA ISEs (SPOT-it Methodology) - Most Suitable Provider process
* NB: Please do NOT use the following address for consideration: https://atamis-1928.my.site.com/s/Welcome * This decision has been made as per NHS England governance processes, by the Commercial & Efficiency Control Approval on 5t March 2026.
No conflicts of Interest were identified amongst decision makers. This PSR MSP Intended Approach Notice will be published on 06 March 2026 and will be open until 12pm, 20 March 2026.
Additional information: This PSR MSP Intended Approach Notice will be published on 06 March 2026 and will be open until 12pm, 20 March 2026. This notice is published by NHS England pursuant to Regulation 10 of the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023 as notice of its intention to follow the Most Suitable Provider (MSP) process in respect of Workflow for NHS Labs delivering SCID and SMA In-Service Evaluations (SPOTit Methodology).
The requirement concerns the re-procurement of SPOTit methodology newborn blood spot screening laboratory services to ensure continued delivery of the Severe Combined Immuno-Deficiency (SCID) in-service evaluation and to enable the addition of the Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA) in-service evaluation using the same SPOTit platform. The proposed contract term is 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2029.
The combined forecast total contract value is £2,429,264.42. NHS England considers the MSP process appropriate because Direct Award Processes A and B do not apply and Direct Award Process C is not available.
The requirement sits within a highly specialist market, and NHS England considers that it is likely to be able to identify the most suitable provider(s) through a proportionate assessment of likely providers against the PSR key criteria and the basic selection criteria. The likely provider arrangements currently identified are Great Ormond Street Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, and Synnovis LLP.
This notice is being published for at least 14 calendar days before assessment of providers against the key criteria. Any provider not presently known to NHS England that believes it is capable of delivering these services may contact NHS England and ask to be considered as a potential provider.
In accordance with the Provider Selection Regime, NHS England will assess likely providers against the five mandatory key criteria and the basic selection criteria. The key criteria to be applied are:
Quality and innovation – 60% Value – 20%
Integration, collaboration and service sustainability – 10% Improving access, reducing health inequalities and facilitating choice – 5%
Social value – 5% The basic selection criteria will be applied on a pass/fail basis and will include:
suitability to pursue the activity, including relevant regulatory and accreditation requirements; economic and financial standing, where relevant; and
technical and professional ability, including accredited laboratory capability, workforce capacity and resilience, QA/QC arrangements, and data/reporting capability. NHS England considers this weighting to be proportionate to the nature of the requirement.
In particular, the greatest relative importance is given to quality and innovation, reflecting the programme-critical need for safe, robust and scientifically reliable delivery of SCID and SMA in-service evaluation activity within the new-born blood spot screening pathway. Value is also materially weighted, reflecting the need to secure efficient delivery and platform efficiencies where SCID and SMA can be combined. The remaining criteria will also be taken into account in identifying the most suitable provider(s), including continuity, collaboration, service sustainability, equitable access, and wider social value.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
Mountain Healthcare
2 contracts wonlatest 11 May 2026£20m
total awarded
- 2
Birmingham Women's and Children's NHS Foundation Trust
2 contracts wonlatest 6 Mar 2026 - 3
Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Partnership Trust
1 contract wonlatest 10 Sept 2026£22m
total awarded
- 4
Midlands Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
1 contract wonlatest 10 Sept 2026£22m
total awarded
- 5
Hurley Clinic Partnership known as the Hurley Group
1 contract wonlatest 26 Aug 2026
Mountain Healthcare is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeStart free trial to downloadCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
NHS EnglandKey Dates
Published
6 March 2026
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
planning
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Single point of access market engagement
The development of an automated digital musculoskeletal (MSK) Single Point of Access (SPA) tool for BHFT's community physiotherapy (MSK Physio), specialist physiotherapy (Community
Falls prevention service
Countywide Falls Prevention Service requirement within West Sussex for a maximum duration of 5 years (3+2). West Sussex County Council is seeking to commission evidence-based falls
Homeless and rough sleeper service
This contract is for delivering a combined GP clinic (up to 8 hours a week) and community nursing outreach service for homeless and rough sleepers in Eastbourne, Lewes and Wealden, valued at about £236k per year for two years.
Autism and ADHD advice
NHS Thames Valley ICB ("the Commissioner") is commissioning Autism and ADHD advice and support services. Autism and ADHD advice, support and support/workshops for parents, carers,
