Further Education Colleges Governor Recruitment Services Pilot
Department For EducationEstimated Value
Not specified
Deadline
Not specified
Published
27 February 2020
Type
Not specified
Overview
The purpose of the PIN is to initiate market engagement. It is not a call for competition.
This PIN is intended to inform the market of a potential future procurement exercise to appoint a supplier to work with the Department on providing the outlined service on a pilot basis to selected Further Education (FE) Colleges. The FE Colleges Governor Recruitment Services Pilot is designed to test the effectiveness of increasing the availability of bespoke governor recruitment services for the governing boards of FE colleges, and so increase their capacity to offer effective leadership to their colleges.
These recruitment services will be free for colleges at the point of use. To ensure that the service is targeted on those college boards which have the greatest need of help, referrals will be made to the supplier via the Education and Skills Funding Agency (ESFA) or the Further Education Commissioner (FEC) Team at DfE.
Regulations cited
- Higher Education Act 1992
Contact & helpdesk
Please email governancepilots.fecolleges@education.gov.uk to express your interest and we will send on the invite.
Additional details
The expected outputs are: • A minimum of 30 successful appointments to key voluntary governor positions on the boards of colleges referred to the service by the ESFA or the FEC (ESFA and FEC will have discretion to specify "key" appointments, but the emphasis is likely to be on Chairs, Deputy Chairs, and committee chairs for Finance or Audit) • Ongoing support and development for appointees to help them to manage their new responsibilities and continue in their role. This should include access to a network or mentor, and to relevant induction or development support (this could be delivered via webinars, for example) • A pool of at least 10 appropriately qualified and experienced candidates for short notice interim appointments to key governance posts • A short evaluation report, based on a survey of users.
Funding will be available in the financial year from April 2020 to March 2021. A maximum of £110,000 (including VAT) is available for this pilot (up to £100,000 for delivery and up to £10,000 for evaluation).
We expect to appoint one supplier. Bidders will need to provide a tender response for both sections, which will carry weightings of 91%:9% in line with the split of overall funding.
The contract will be awarded to the bidder with the highest overall score, but we reserve the right to not award the evaluation portion of the contract if it does not offer value for money when compared to an in-house option. Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) will be derived from the required outputs and from measures of customer satisfaction.
They will be finalised with the successful bidder following contract award. We will be holding a webinar to give some more information and provide an opportunity to ask questions on Thursday 5th March at 14:30 - 15:30.
All information from the day, including Q&A, will be made available to those who are unable to attend. Additional information: NB: In this document "colleges" should be taken to refer to ESFA-funded FE college corporations, Sixth Form College corporations (SFCs), and institutions designated as being in the statutory FE sector under section 28 of the Further and Higher Education Act 1992 (designated institutions).
The Further Education Colleges Board Reviews pilot is one of a range of measures designed to support improvement in the practice of FE college boards. Further information can be found in the FE Leadership and Governance press release (dated 27th February 2020) here: https://www.gov.uk/government/latest?departments%5B%5D=de...
This procurement will be run through Jaggaer, the Department's e-Tendering platform. You must be registered on Jaggaer to view and bid for this opportunity when it is launched.
You can register and view opportunities here: https://education.app.jaggaer.com/. In preparing their tenders, potential suppliers are advised to refer to relevant guidance, including https://www.gov.uk/guidance/fe-governance, https://www.aoc.co.uk/funding-and-corporate-services/gove..., and https://www.charitygovernancecode.org/en.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
Rachel Kershaw Consultancy Services
2 contracts wonlatest 31 Mar 2026ends 31 Mar 2027£60,000
total awarded
- 2
Alma Economics
1 contract wonlatest 25 Sept 2026ends 31 Dec 2031£599,200
total awarded
- 3
National Centre for Social Research
1 contract wonlatest 9 Sept 2026ends 31 Mar 2030£14m
total awarded
- 4
Ecorys
1 contract wonlatest 7 Sept 2026ends 30 Sept 2029£5m
total awarded
- 5
Ecorys UK
1 contract wonlatest 1 Sept 2026ends 31 Mar 2029£949,787
total awarded
Rachel Kershaw Consultancy Services is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Contracts Finder
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view this tender on Contracts Finder
Find the submission method
Look for "How to apply" section — most tenders link to an eSourcing platform (e.g. In-Tend, ProContract, Jaggaer)
Create an account
Register on the eSourcing platform for free — you'll need a company email and DUNS number
Download tender documents
Download the ITT (Invitation to Tender), specification, pricing schedule, and any templates
Submit your response
Upload completed documents through the portal before the deadline — late bids are automatically rejected
Most buyers do NOT accept email submissions. You must submit through their eSourcing platform. Check the notice for the exact link.
Buyer Profile
Department for EducationKey Dates
Published
27 February 2020
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
planning
Source
contracts finder
Related Tenders
Seaton sluice welfare playpark replacement 2026
Seaton Valley Community Council seeks a contractor to design, supply and install a complete replacement inclusive playpark at the Welfare Park on Beresford Road, Seaton Sluice, for
002468 - Contract for fleet equipment maintenance and potential repair
Durham County Council (DCC) have a requirement for the ongoing maintenance, calibration, and potential repair of all workshop equipment across all four of their workshops. The flee
Managed IT and cyber security service provider - pre-qualification (stage 1 of 2)
North East Autism Society (NEAS), a North East England charity, is seeking to appoint a Managed Service Provider (MSP) to deliver managed IT and cyber security services across the
FC - TPPLPSBUS01 - purchase of 6x coachbuilt buses
The contract is for the purchase of six new coach‑built buses to replace ageing vehicles used in a community transport service. It is aimed at suppliers who can provide suitable, road‑legal buses for public transport purposes.
