Fully-funded photo-voltaic solution for the UK public sector
Stoke on Trent City CouncilEstimated Value
Up to £82,000,000
Deadline
Not specified
Published
12 December 2025
Type
services
Overview
This VEAT notice is to inform the market of a modification of a Call-Off contract originally directly awarded to Community Energy Scheme Stoke Limited ("CES", previously "Solarplicity Asset Limited") under an existing Framework (OJEU reference 2015/S 033-056490) for a fully-funded photo-voltaic solution for the UK public sector. The framework was managed by Alliance Housing, a large social landlord based in the south-west of England, and was accessible to all public bodies (including local authorities).
The modification involves the inclusion of the Council's corporate portfolio of buildings to the original scheme as well as leases for installation of photovoltaic panels for two ground mount sites to increase the carbon reduction potential of the scheme. The original scheme will continue to contribute to the provision of affordable warmth for lower income households.
The addition of the Council's corporate buildings and additional ground mount sites will increase the carbon reduction potential of the scheme. Stoke-on-Trent City Council believes the modification does not amount to a material variation of the Call-Off contract for the purposes of Regulation 72(8), so is permissible.
Regulations cited
- Public Contracts Regulations 2015
Additional details
This Voluntary Transparency Notice (published under the Public Contracts Regulations 2015) is published in order to provide transparency of the intended modification. The Council does not consider that by the proposed variation it will be awarding a new contract for the purposes of the Public Contracts Regulations 2015.
The modification involves the inclusion of the Council's corporate portfolio of buildings and two ground mount installations to increase the carbon reduction potential of the scheme and involves entrance into: 1. A Project agreement with a CES group entity for rooftop solar PV systems on Council corporate buildings, under which the parties may enter into leases for access and rights to undertake the design, installation, maintenance and operation of rooftop solar PV systems on Council owned buildings and power purchase agreements under which the Council will purchase electricity generated from the rooftop solar PV systems and 2.
A Project Agreement with a CES group entity for two leases for ground mount installations and virtual power purchase agreements under which the Council will purchase electricity generated from the ground mount solar PV systems designed, installed, maintained and operated by the CES group entity in order to increase the Council's carbon reduction potential. The original scheme will continue to contribute to the provision of affordable warmth for lower income households.
The addition of corporate buildings and ground mount sites will increase the carbon reduction potential of the scheme. It is considered that the value of the modification is not outwith the estimated value of the original scheme.
The contractual modification also interfaces with the original scheme. The modification does not amount to a material variation of the Call-Off contract for the purposes of Regulation 72(8).
The modification will not affect the economic balance of the Call-Off Contract, as the core financial principle of this arrangement is to secure equivalent net-value for CES under the original scheme, plus a fair yield for the additional investment they will need to make to deliver the corporate roof mounted and ground-mount schemes. In doing so, the Council will also realise potential significant revenue savings through a reduction in energy costs.
The character of the scheme in terms of being a photovoltaic solution on Council land is maintained and the Council does not consider that it is likely that had these changes been part of the original Framework procurement that different candidates or tenders would have resulted, nor that it would have attracted additional participants to the original Framework procurement. Additional information: The total value of the procurement at II.1.7 is the value of the original scheme as agreed between the Council and CES. The modification involves the installation of solar panels on the Council's corporate buildings and at the ground mount sites that were envisaged to be installed on lower income households under the original scheme.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Award Details
Community Energy Scheme Stoke Limited
£82,000,000
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
Stoke on Trent City CouncilKey Dates
Published
12 December 2025
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
award
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
CWC26005 - physiotherapy service
This service is for the provision of an occupational physiotherapy service for approximately 4,400 Council employees, delivering assessment, treatment and rehabilitation to support
COV - young people's drug and alcohol prevention, treatment and support service 2027
Coventry City Council is looking for a provider to deliver drug and alcohol prevention, treatment and support services for young people, including safeguarding responsibilities, as part of its public health duties.
Home care including carers home based respite services in staffordshire
The Council are commissioning Care in the home services including a Carers home and community respite service across Staffordshire for Carers who have been assessed as having suppo
The repair of steering gear and hydraulic assemblies & associated items
The Ministry of Defence (the Authority), proposed to award a five (5) year Framework agreement with two (2) x 12-month option years subject to requirement and satisfactory performa
