Extension to the longitudinal Study of Early Education and Development (SEED)
Department For EducationEstimated Value
Not specified
Deadline
Not specified
Published
27 October 2020
Type
Not specified
Overview
The purpose of this Prior Information Notice (PIN) is to inform potential suppliers of our intention to extend the Study of Early Education and Development (SEED) until the study cohort reach the end of Key Stage 4. SEED is a major longitudinal study commissioned from the Department for Education (DfE) that has followed nearly 6,000 children from across England from age two through to the end of Key Stage one (age seven).
The aim of SEED is to find out how characteristics of the early environment, including early childhood education and care and home and parenting, relate to child development and child outcomes over time. It further aims to understand what is important for high quality childcare provision and how the quality of provision relates to child outcomes and to compare the costs of delivering early education with the estimated monetary value of the impacts on child development.
Additionally, SEED has collected data from families of 7-9 year-olds in the study in 2020 about experiences and behaviours and children's emotional health and well-being during the COVID-19 pandemic. The current study is due to finish after the early education and outcomes at age 7 report is published and the COVID-19 analysis is published.
Contact & helpdesk
Additional email address for contact: Johnathon.Blackburn@education.gov.uk Note: We have decided not declare an expected contract value at this stage.
Additional details
The Dept. is intending to extend the study. The aim of this extension is to understand the medium-to-long term, as well as wider, outcomes associated with the early years and with the COVID-19 pandemic.
We envisage that the SEED extension study will cover the following research tasks: - Task 1: Data matching of SEED data to data held in the National Pupil Database (NPD) at Key Stages 2 and 4 - Task 2: Primary data collection with the children, their families, and/or teachers at Key Stage 2 and potentially Key Stage 4 if sufficient sample sizes remain. - Task 3: Data linkage with wider Government administrative data, particularly health and crime (if feasible) - Task 4: Keep-in-touch communications, sample maintenance and tracing procedures to minimise sample attrition. - Task 5: Economic analysis on the value-for-money of early education and childcare The SEED sample will complete Key Stage 2 in academic years 2021/2022 and 2022/2023. Then, the sample will complete Key Stage 4 in academic years 2026/27 and 2027/28.
The potential collection of primary data during KS4 would be incorporated as a contract extension, with viability of this collection assessed taking into account attrition rates up to Key Stage 4. This notice is for information only and is not a call for competition.
The Department reserves the right not to enter a formal procurement process and not proceed with contract award. Accordingly, the Department will not be liable for any bid cost, expenditure, work or effort incurred by any organisation in acting on the basis of this Prior Information Notice.
All information included in this notice is indicative and subject to change. Additional information: Please see Attachments / Links section for links to addition information about SEED.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
Alma Economics
1 contract wonlatest 25 Sept 2026ends 31 Dec 2031£599,200
total awarded
- 2
National Centre for Social Research
1 contract wonlatest 9 Sept 2026ends 31 Mar 2030£14m
total awarded
- 3
Ecorys
1 contract wonlatest 7 Sept 2026ends 30 Sept 2029£5m
total awarded
- 4
Ecorys UK
1 contract wonlatest 1 Sept 2026ends 31 Mar 2029£949,787
total awarded
- 5
ipsos (Market Research) Ltd
1 contract wonlatest 18 Jun 2026ends 24 May 2029£1m
total awarded
Alma Economics is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Contracts Finder
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view this tender on Contracts Finder
Find the submission method
Look for "How to apply" section — most tenders link to an eSourcing platform (e.g. In-Tend, ProContract, Jaggaer)
Create an account
Register on the eSourcing platform for free — you'll need a company email and DUNS number
Download tender documents
Download the ITT (Invitation to Tender), specification, pricing schedule, and any templates
Submit your response
Upload completed documents through the portal before the deadline — late bids are automatically rejected
Most buyers do NOT accept email submissions. You must submit through their eSourcing platform. Check the notice for the exact link.
Buyer Profile
Department for EducationKey Dates
Published
27 October 2020
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
planning
Source
contracts finder
Related Tenders
Provision of research into organics treatment capacity in scotland reference
Zero Waste Scotland is seeking a provider to research how proposed changes to household food waste collection will affect Scotland's organics treatment facilities and to explore ways to increase circularity in the food economy.
Cleaning services - shipston high school
The site. A single secondary school of approximately 4,315 m² of printed in-scope floor area across three blocks, together with a sports hall building of approximately 1,175 m² del
Financial advisor.
Great British Energy – Nuclear (GBE-N) is procuring specialist financial advisory services to support the assessment of funding and financing options for the Gwyndod Small Modular
Housing related support
North East Lincolnshire Council is seeking tenders from sufficiently experienced and qualified Providers to establish the following types of needs-led Housing Related Support (HRS)
