Expanding the Publicly Accessible Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure Network in Glasgow City Region
Glasgow City CouncilEstimated Value
Up to £480,000,000
Deadline
Not specified
Published
10 April 2025
Type
services
Overview
This Pin is being published to engage with the market. In alignment with the Scottish Government and Transport Scotland’s’ vision for Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure (EVCI), the objective of the Glasgow City Region (GCR) member authorities is to enable an expansion of a comprehensive network of publicly accessible EVCI throughout the GCR that is grown by leveraging private sector expertise and capital, creates a charging network that complements standalone private investment out with the scope of this initiative and in doing so helps enable a comprehensive, convenient, reliable and accessible charging network that meets the needs of users.
A key priority of this initiative is to enable the provision of public EVCI in areas or localities where standalone private investment in EVCI is not currently viable. GCC is looking to appoint a single concessionaire.
It is anticipated that the contract period will be 20 years. At the present time it is estimated that the turnover, over the 20 year contract term and based on an assumption of inflation at 2.5% per annum, will be in the region of GBP 480 million (excluding VAT).
Contact & helpdesk
Glasgow City Council (GCC), as the Lead Council on behalf of the following eight Member Authorities in Glasgow City Region, (East Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow City, Inverclyde, North Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire, South Lanarkshire, and West Dunbartonshire) is seeking to award a single concession type contract with a concessionaire/commercial Charge Point Operator, on behalf of the member Authorities, as a partner who will be required to provide a full Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure turnkey service via a long term concession contact which will include both the migration of around 600 existing charge points and around 3,000 to 3,500 new Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure; consisting of Supply, Financing Installation, Upgrade, Maintenance of Charging infrastructure and Back Office Services.
Additional details
The Scope of Services will include the following phases: Part One: Existing Assets [From contract award to 6 months] Take ownership of the existing EVCI (316 distinct locations with existing 629 charge points currently) and migrate these from the current Charge Place Scotland (CPS) service, onto a new back-office service, and providing a full ongoing maintenance service. Part Two: Primary Charge Point Locations [From contract award to 18 months] Supply, financing, installation, maintenance and back-office services for new EVCI charge points to be installed early in the Delivery Programme.
These Primary Charge Points are expected to make best use of the available Transport Scotland Grant Funding by March 2028 and will be identified via an Initial Network Development Plan that will be issued along with the ITT. Part Three: Secondary Charge Point Locations [From 12 months after contract award to 36 months] Supply, financing, installation, maintenance and back-office services for new EVCI charge points based upon a list of proposed localities identified by the MAs.
Working through the MA’s contract management team, the precise locations of these Secondary Charge Points and the configuration of EVCI on such sites will be agreed in partnership between the relevant MA and the appointed Concessionaire during the first 12 months following contract award. Agreed Secondary Charge Point Locations will be added to the Concessionaire’s Network Development Plan via a Change Protocol.
Along with the Primary Charge Point Locations, the overall target will be to expand the public charging network in the GCR in the range of 3,000 to 3,500 additional public charge point locations within three years of contract award. Please refer to the document one draft scope of requirements for further details.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
Glasgow City CouncilKey Dates
Published
10 April 2025
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
planning
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
The provision of investment management services for the scottish universities fund ignition strategy
The Bank is seeking proposals from suitably qualified and authorised investment management firms to establish and manage a 15 million GBP segregated investment mandate for the deli
Out of home advertising for bus stations and shelters
Provision of advertising agency services to market, develop and maintain the current and future developed estate within SPT Bus Stations and the SPT Bus Shelter network throughout
Distress brief intervention
North Lanarkshire Council (the "Council") propose to establish a contract with a sole contractor for Distress Brief Intervention. . There is a longstanding culture of joint integra
The provision of community based mental health services incorporating distress brief intervention services level 2
Renfrewshire Council/Renfrewshire Health and Social Care Partnership (RHSCP) are seeking a Provider to deliver a community based mental health service for adults aged over 16 in Re
