DMNH 042 - LEVI Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure
Shropshire CouncilEstimated Value
Up to £108,000,000
Deadline
Not specified
Published
29 July 2026
Type
Not specified
Full Description
Overview
The purpose of this notice is to inform potential service providers of Shropshire Council’s intention to bring to market its Local Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (LEVI) fund procurement opportunity to deliver additional electric vehicle charging infrastructure (EVCI) in Shropshire.
The LEVI funding allows large scale deployment of EVCI by the private sector, under contract to Councils, specifically targeting delivery of an equitable charging network. Forecasts indicate that by 2050, EV adoption will be significant, with an estimated 90% of cars being electric (EVs) across both rural and urban areas. The aim of the Government’s LEVI Fund is to get ahead of this demand, ensuring that access to EVCI is not a blocker to the EV transition, particularly for residents who are unable to charge at home.
The Council’s intention is to appoint a service provider (or consortia) to supply, install, connect and operate the EVCI. The Council will utilise LEVI funds to de-risk delivery for the private sector service provider and support the installation of EVCI to meet the level of demand anticipated for 2035.
This is an initial market testing exercise to aid the Council in gathering information. It is not an invitation to tender or request formal expressions of interest. A procurement exercise is expected at a future point in 2026, with a view to a service provider being appointed in early 2027 and the first charge points being operational before the end of 2027. It is expected that there will be a 28-week competitive flexible procedure comprising a 4-week premarket engagement phase, a two-stage competition (PSQ and ITT), post tender dialogue , BAFO, final evaluation and moderation , standstill and contract award
Background to Charging Infrastructure and LEVI in Shropshire
As of October 2025, there were a total of 546 devices across Shropshire, some of which have been delivered under contract to the Council. Initial analysis indicates that more than 550 new devices can be delivered across the region utilising the LEVI Fund capital funding, doubling the number of devices.
Work is underway to determine suitable areas and sites for delivery of this scale of EVCI. Devices will be located either on-street or on council owned land in the majority of cases. Further details will be provided at procurement stage.
Approval was given to take forward the LEVI process at a meeting of the Shropshire Cabinet on 11 March 2026.
Outline of the Scope of Shropshire Council’s LEVI Scheme
The anticipated scope of the scheme, in brief, is outlined here
The scope of installation will primarily include standard 7kW devices, with the option to incorporate:
22kW fast devices, where local network capacity and site conditions allow; and
A limited number of 50kW+ rapid devices, subject to local network capacity and site suitability.
To facilitate the procurement process, the Council intends to utilise the established documentation available from the LEVI Support body, and available on the NEVIS platform, as far as reasonably possible.
The service provider will be appointed under a concession contract where the Council grants the service provider the right to deliver, operate, own and maintain EVCI on Council-owned land or highways. A 15-year contract (with the option to extend by one year) is proposed, which is in line with market trends and recommended by the Department for Transport (DfT).
The Council intends to adopt the Heads of Terms recommendations and will seek an annual concession fee and/or a percentage revenue share which will be determined as part of the procurement process and after undertaking market engagement.
The Council will invest its £2,006,000 of LEVI Fund capital funding, alongside investment from the service provider.
Additional Procurement and Scheme Information
The Council has not finalised its approach to a lotting strategy and is actively considering whether to divide the opportunity into lots or to appoint a single supplier. This decision will be informed by our preferred sites and charging speeds, market engagement and further analysis over the coming months, ensuring that the final structure both attracts strong market support and safeguards the interests of Shropshire’s residents and businesses.
The Council is updating its EVI Strategy that sets out its vision for the future of EVI and EV transition across the region. This strategy will be made available to bidders.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
Action for Children
3 contracts wonlatest 10 Sept 2026ends 30 Sept 2029 - 2
Chapple and Jenkins Ltd.
- 3
Nathaniel Lichfield & Partners Ltd
1 contract wonlatest 8 Oct 2026ends 25 Apr 2027 - 4
Arc4 Limited
1 contract wonlatest 17 Sept 2026ends 30 Nov 2026 - 5
IMPOWER Consulting Ltd
1 contract wonlatest 11 Sept 2026ends 21 Dec 2026
Action for Children is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
Shropshire CouncilKey Dates
Published
29 July 2026
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
planning
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Cultural host request
Telford and Wrekin Council would like to establish a contract to provide and support the maintenance of a secure partner portal that allows organisations to upload and update infor
Tender for sensory impairment rehabilitation service in herefordshire
Herefordshire Council is seeking to appoint a suitably qualified and experienced provider to deliver a countywide Sensory Impairment Service for adults aged 18 and over who are liv
Provision of energy performance certificate (EPC) assessments
Platform Housing Limited is seeking to appoint suitably qualified and experienced suppliers to deliver Energy Performance Certificate (EPC) assessments across our operational areas
The supply of electricity to MOD sites in northern ireland
PROCUREMENT SUMMARY Procedure: Open Procedure under the Procurement Act 2023. Contract Length: 24 Months + 12 Month Extension + 12 Month Extension. Maximum Contract Duration: 48 Mo
