System operational · UK tenders
planned
ocds-h6vhtk-06b776 · planning

DMNH 042 - LEVI Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure

Shropshire Council

Estimated Value

Up to £108,000,000

Deadline

Not specified

Published

17 June 2026

Type

Not specified

West MidlandsGB

Full Description

Overview

The purpose of this notice is to inform potential service providers of Shropshire Council’s intention to bring to market its Local Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (LEVI) fund procurement opportunity to deliver additional electric vehicle charging infrastructure (EVCI) in Shropshire.

The LEVI funding allows large scale deployment of EVCI by the private sector, under contract to Councils, specifically targeting delivery of an equitable charging network. Forecasts indicate that by 2050, EV adoption will be significant, with an estimated 90% of cars being electric (EVs) across both rural and urban areas. The aim of the Government’s LEVI Fund is to get ahead of this demand, ensuring that access to EVCI is not a blocker to the EV transition, particularly for residents who are unable to charge at home.

The Council’s intention is to appoint a service provider (or consortia) to supply, install, connect and operate the EVCI. The Council will utilise LEVI funds to de-risk delivery for the private sector service provider and support the installation of EVCI to meet the level of demand anticipated for 2035.

This is an initial market testing exercise to aid the Council in gathering information. It is not an invitation to tender or request formal expressions of interest. A procurement exercise is expected at a future point in 2026, with a view to a service provider being appointed in early 2027 and the first charge points being operational before the end of 2027. It is expected that there will be a 28-week competitive flexible procedure comprising a 4-week premarket engagement phase, a two-stage competition (PSQ and ITT), post tender dialogue , BAFO, final evaluation and moderation , standstill and contract award

Background to Charging Infrastructure and LEVI in Shropshire

As of October 2025, there were a total of 546 devices across Shropshire, some of which have been delivered under contract to the Council. Initial analysis indicates that more than 550 new devices can be delivered across the region utilising the LEVI Fund capital funding, doubling the number of devices.

Work is underway to determine suitable areas and sites for delivery of this scale of EVCI. Devices will be located either on-street or on council owned land in the majority of cases. Further details will be provided at procurement stage.

Approval was given to take forward the LEVI process at a meeting of the Shropshire Cabinet on 11 March 2026.

Outline of the Scope of Shropshire Council’s LEVI Scheme

The anticipated scope of the scheme, in brief, is outlined here

The scope of installation will primarily include standard 7kW devices, with the option to incorporate:

22kW fast devices, where local network capacity and site conditions allow; and

A limited number of 50kW+ rapid devices, subject to local network capacity and site suitability.

To facilitate the procurement process, the Council intends to utilise the established documentation available from the LEVI Support body, and available on the NEVIS platform, as far as reasonably possible.

The service provider will be appointed under a concession contract where the Council grants the service provider the right to deliver, operate, own and maintain EVCI on Council-owned land or highways. A 15-year contract (with the option to extend by one year) is proposed, which is in line with market trends and recommended by the Department for Transport (DfT).

The Council intends to adopt the Heads of Terms recommendations and will seek an annual concession fee and/or a percentage revenue share which will be determined as part of the procurement process and after undertaking market engagement.

The Council will invest its £2,006,000 of LEVI Fund capital funding, alongside investment from the service provider.

Additional Procurement and Scheme Information

The Council has not finalised its approach to a lotting strategy and is actively considering whether to divide the opportunity into lots or to appoint a single supplier. This decision will be informed by our preferred sites and charging speeds, market engagement and further analysis over the coming months, ensuring that the final structure both attracts strong market support and safeguards the interests of Shropshire’s residents and businesses.

The Council is updating its EVI Strategy that sets out its vision for the future of EVI and EV transition across the region. This strategy will be made available to bidders.

AI AnalysisMembers

Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.

Create free account

£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.

Likely incumbents

Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.

5 found
  1. 1

    Action for Children

    3 contracts wonlatest 10 Sept 2026ends 30 Sept 2029
  2. 2

    Chapple and Jenkins Ltd.

    2 contracts wonlatest 18 May 2026ends 31 May 2029CH 06489298
  3. 3

    Nathaniel Lichfield & Partners Ltd

    1 contract wonlatest 8 Oct 2026ends 25 Apr 2027
  4. 4

    Arc4 Limited

    1 contract wonlatest 17 Sept 2026ends 30 Nov 2026
  5. 5

    IMPOWER Consulting Ltd

    1 contract wonlatest 11 Sept 2026ends 21 Dec 2026

Action for Children is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.

Search for tenders
SponsoredEst. 2010
Gladstone & Co AccountantsTax advisers · East Ham, London

Before you bid, buyers check

two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios

Annual accountsCash-flow forecastsManagement accountsCorporation taxVAT & MTDPayroll & RTIBookkeepingCompany formationSelf-assessmentVirtual FDHMRC enquiriesAuto-enrolmentProperty & landlord taxCharity SORP accounts
Get bid-ready — free 30-min call

Actions

Start free trialto open notice

Create an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.

Open Bid Writer
Built by · Digital studioEst. 2022
Unique
Evolution®

Independent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.

Web DesignSoftware DevelopmentSEO ServicesPromotion
Visit Unique Evolution

How to Apply

Step-by-step submission guide

Submission Portal

Find a Tender

Visit
1

Open the original notice

Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)

2

Check the procedure type

The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply

3

Access the eSourcing portal

FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents

4

Complete the Selection Questionnaire

Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage

5

Submit electronically

Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time

FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.

Buyer Profile

Shropshire Council
Typepublic body
RegionUKG22
Total tenders95
Total spend£722,588,610
View buyer profile

Key Dates

Published

17 June 2026

Submission deadline

Not specified

Notice type

planning

Source

find a tender

Similar

Related Tenders