Derbyshire Adult Community Audiology Service - Market Engagement (DDICB)
NHS Derby & Derbyshire Integrated Care BoardEstimated Value
Up to £24,000,000
Deadline
Not specified
Published
19 August 2025
Type
services
Overview
NHS Arden and Greater East Midlands Commissioning Support Unit (CSU), on behalf of NHS Derby and Derbyshire Integrated Care Board ("the Commissioner") are seeking expressions of interest from suitably qualified and experienced providers for the provision of a Derbyshire Adult Community Audiology Service. The Commissioners are inviting the market to express their interest in the future delivery of these services and seeking feedback from the market on the proposed service specification.
Potential providers interested in this service are requested to complete the soft market testing questionnaire. NHS Derby and Derbyshire ICB (DDICB) commissions an adult (18+) direct access community audiology service.
This service provides hearing assessments and, if necessary, the supply and fitting of one or two hearing aids along with follow-up support. Patients 55 and older can self-refer, whereas those younger than 55 require a GP referral.
Regulations cited
- Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023
- Procurement Act Regulations 2023
Additional details
In the 2024/25 period, it delivered roughly a total of 63,793 interventions (this activity consisted of assessments, all aftercare appointments and fitting appointments). Please note this data does not contain Glossop activity, but it is anticipated that the Glossop area will also be included as a part of this service from 2026 onwards.
NHS Derby and Derbyshire ICB are inviting Expressions of Interest from suitably qualified providers to express their interest in delivering for the provision of a Derbyshire Adult Community Audiology Service. Following the market engagement, it is currently anticipated that an appropriate Provider Selection Regime (PSR) procurement process / provider selection process will be undertaken to implement a patient choice model, similar to that previously described (under historical procurement regimes/legislation) as an Any Qualified Provider (AQP) model.
The ICB intends to award a zero volume, zero value contract to providers that are capable and meet the relevant requirements, which will be described in the future procurement process. The contract duration for this service is expected to be 3-years with up to a 2-year extension option.
The maximum indicative budget available for the service is expected to be circa £4.8m per annum. All interested providers are requested to review the service specification and then complete a short questionnaire to share feedback and express their interest in delivering this service.
Further details of the service can be found within the published draft specification (available via the Atamis e-tendering portal on the link below). The aim of this Expression of Interest is to; 1.
Allow the market visibility of the proposed opportunity. 2. To inform the DDICB decision-making process for the potential future commissioning of the Derbyshire Adult Community Audiology Services. 3.
To help refine the future commissioning and procurement approach. 4. To gauge the level of interest from the market of capable providers with capacity to deliver, maintain and strengthen services across Derbyshire as illustrated in the draft service specification. 5.
To invite feedback from potential providers/the market on the draft service specification. As part of this advert, and to facilitate the above, the commissioner will be requesting providers to complete and submit a market engagement questionnaire (available via the e-tendering portal).
To register your expression of interest and to complete the questionnaire, please use the following link and Project reference: Link: https://health-family.force.com/s/Welcome. Project Reference: C379400.
The deadline for Expressions of Interest responses is by 15:00 on 4th September 2025. Please note this is a market engagement exercise and does not commit the ICB to carry out any further procurement process.
Any future opportunity will be advertised in accordance with the regulations. Any and all information/documents that are made available as part of this engagement exercise are draft and subject to change.
All timeframes are indicative and also subject to change. Please note, this Prior Information Notice relates to a service/contract in scope of the Provider Selection Regime (PSR).
Any future Procurement / Provider Selection Process conducted will be subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023. For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Procurement Act Regulations 2023 will not apply.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
Primary Eyecare Services
1 contract wonlatest 11 Jun 2026£4m
total awarded
- 2
Audiological Science Ltd
1 contract wonlatest 27 Jan 2026£24m
total awarded
- 3
Scrivens Ltd
1 contract wonlatest 27 Jan 2026£24m
total awarded
- 4
Specsavers Hearcare
1 contract wonlatest 27 Jan 2026£24m
total awarded
- 5
Community Health and Eyecare Ltd
1 contract wonlatest 27 Jan 2026£24m
total awarded
Primary Eyecare Services is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeStart free trial to downloadCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
NHS Derby & Derbyshire Integrated Care BoardKey Dates
Published
19 August 2025
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
planning
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Hospital pharmacy services (HPS)
This contract is for providing the pharmacy part of the COVID‑19 Medicines Delivery Unit (CMDU) pathway, including clinical reviews, dosing checks, patient counselling and urgent supply of oral COVID‑19 treatments for high‑risk patients, and is being awarded directly to the current provider for the period 1 April 2026 to 30 September 2027.
North northamptonshire council - nightly purchased, supplier managed temporary accommodation
North Northamptonshire Council is seeking a supplier to provide and manage nightly‑paid temporary accommodation, aiming to reduce hotel use, keep placements within the council area, improve accommodation standards and increase income from council‑owned properties.
All-age early intervention and prevention service for eating disorders
The contract is for a county‑wide, community‑based early‑intervention and prevention service for all‑age eating disorder presentations, including support for families and carers. It is being awarded directly to an existing provider by the Integrated Care Board for a two‑year period (March 2027‑March 2029).
Private ambulance service (PAS) 2027
East Midlands Ambulance Service NHS Trust is hiring private ambulance providers to deliver double‑crewed, blue‑light ambulance services in four regional lots, starting April 2027 for up to 24 months.
