Delivery of Protected Learning Time (PLT) for General Practice, Pharmacy, Optometry and Dental
NHS NORTH EAST AND NORTH CUMBRIA INTEGRATED CARE BOARDEstimated Value
Up to £1,262,000
Deadline
Not specified
Published
23 September 2026
Type
services
Overview
To lead, design, deliver and expand a model of Protected Learning Time (PLT) for general practice in year 1 (and in year 2 and 3 Pharmacy, Optometry and Dental), ensuring a standardised offer across NENC in terms of the number and type of events and the arrangements and funding for any clinical cover per session. As a first step, co-produce a future PLT model with general practices, recognising any cover arrangements must comply with the new contractual requirements to ensure patients have access to primary care services in person, on the telephone and through an online consultation tool.
Further work will be required in year 1 to scope the capacity and capability needed to provide the same level of support across the wider primary care contractor groups (community pharmacy, optometry and dentistry) for PLT. The relevant authority intends to award this contract under the urgent circumstances provision under the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) regulations 2023.
For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Procurement Act 2023 and Procurement Regulations 2024 do not apply to this award. The lifetime value of the contract is £1,262,000. Contract Start Date: 01 September 2026 Contract End Date: 31 March 2029
Regulations cited
- Procurement Act 2023
- Procurement Regulations 2024
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
This contract is for a supplier to design, deliver and expand a Protected Learning Time (PLT) programme for General Practice in year 1 and then for Pharmacy, Optometry and Dental in years 2‑3 across the North East and North Cumbria (NENC). The supplier must provide a standardised set of learning events and arrange funding for clinical cover so patient services remain available.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Award Details
Hartlepool & Stockton Health
£1,262,000
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
North Cumbria Primary Care
£0
total awarded
- 2
Central Durham GP Providers Ltd
£129,866
total awarded
- 3
Cambridge Medical Group
£0
total awarded
- 4
Parkway Medical Group
2 contracts wonlatest 13 Oct 2025£0
total awarded
- 5
Northumbria Primary Care (NPC)
£0
total awarded
North Cumbria Primary Care is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
NHS North East and North Cumbria Integrated Care BoardKey Dates
Published
23 September 2026
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
award
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Gb-middlesbrough: planning consultancy services for land disposal
The University is looking for a qualified planning consultant to advise on how best to promote, plan and sell a piece of land on Lacy Road, Middlesbrough for residential development.
Sunderland integrated sexual health service (PSR direct award process C - notice of intention to make an award of a contact to the existing provider)
A contact for the provision of the Sunderland Integrated Sexual Health Services ("the Service") including enabling open access, cost effective and high quality provision of contrac
ANE therapeutic support services
North Tyneside Council, on behalf of Adopt North East (ANE), is reopening a framework to appoint suppliers who can deliver therapeutic parenting courses and high‑level social work assessments for adopted children and families, focusing on trauma and attachment, with the contract running until 2029.
School, college & centre passenger transport services
Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council is extending its School, College & Centre Passenger Transport Services Dynamic Purchasing System (DPS) until 23 Feb 2029, inviting transport providers to offer a range of vehicles – from 4‑seat taxis to 70‑seat coaches – for school and college journeys.
