Estimated Value
Not specified
Deadline
Not specified
Published
30 April 2026
Type
Not specified
Overview
The purpose of this notice is to inform potential suppliers of Shropshire Council’s intention to procure one or more suppliers to deliver, install, own and maintain embedded cross-pavement channel solutions within Shropshire. The cross-pavement channel solutions would allow residents without off-street parking to safely charge their vehicle while parked on-street.
This is a pre-market engagement exercise to aid the Council in gathering information. It is not an invitation to tender, or request for formal expressions of interest.
A procurement exercise is expected at a future point in Spring 2026, with a view to installations commencing in Summer 2026. Background The Department for Transport has made funding available to local authorities to install cross-pavement channels, through the EV Pavement Channels Grant.
Eligibility & compliance
A level surface providing no trip hazard must be maintained. •The cross-pavement channel solution provider must request all necessary permits and permissions on behalf of residents prior to undertaking any works. •The cross-pavement channel solution must be easy to use by the benefitting resident, and include measures to reduce the risk of tampering or misuse. •The cross-pavement channel solution must require minimal maintenance by the benefitting resident. •The supplier must agree to work collaboratively with the Council, including participating in monitoring and evaluation activities, and supporting promotional and publicity activities. •A suitable warranty must be provided to the Council.
Additional details
Shropshire Council has a grant allocation, which can be used to help subsidise trial channel hardware and installation costs. Further details will be provided at procurement stage.
Approval was given to take forward a programme to deliver embedded cross-pavement channel solutions at a meeting of the Shropshire Cabinet on 11 March 2026. The Council intends on appointing one or more suppliers with a view to commencing with a small-scale trial, before scaling up with one or more of the selected suppliers.
Interested suppliers should also be aware that the Council is also developing a programme of charge point delivery utilising funding from the Local Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (LEVI) fund. Procurement for this has not yet commenced.
Our anticipated requirements The Council’s anticipated requirements are outlined here: •Installed cross-pavement channel solutions will be owned by the supplier, rather than the Council or residents themselves. •Cross-pavement channel solutions will be supplied, installed and maintained by the supplier, rather than by the Council. •As far as reasonably possible, the Council is seeking a fully managed (turnkey) solution from resident application to installation and maintenance. •The cross-pavement channel solution must be embedded within the pavement, fully concealing the cable below the surface of the pavement. The Council’s draft Technical Specification is attached.
This focuses on the XPS product, installation and maintenance. The final specification will cover other activities including operations. Your response to the market engagement activity outlined below will assist in finalising the specification.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
Action for Children
3 contracts wonlatest 10 Sept 2026ends 30 Sept 2029 - 2
Chapple and Jenkins Ltd.
- 3
Nathaniel Lichfield & Partners Ltd
1 contract wonlatest 8 Oct 2026ends 25 Apr 2027 - 4
Arc4 Limited
1 contract wonlatest 17 Sept 2026ends 30 Nov 2026 - 5
IMPOWER Consulting Ltd
1 contract wonlatest 11 Sept 2026ends 21 Dec 2026
Action for Children is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
Shropshire CouncilKey Dates
Published
30 April 2026
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
planning
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Cultural host request
Telford and Wrekin Council would like to establish a contract to provide and support the maintenance of a secure partner portal that allows organisations to upload and update infor
Tender for sensory impairment rehabilitation service in herefordshire
Herefordshire Council is seeking to appoint a suitably qualified and experienced provider to deliver a countywide Sensory Impairment Service for adults aged 18 and over who are liv
Provision of energy performance certificate (EPC) assessments
Platform Housing Limited is seeking to appoint suitably qualified and experienced suppliers to deliver Energy Performance Certificate (EPC) assessments across our operational areas
The supply of electricity to MOD sites in northern ireland
PROCUREMENT SUMMARY Procedure: Open Procedure under the Procurement Act 2023. Contract Length: 24 Months + 12 Month Extension + 12 Month Extension. Maximum Contract Duration: 48 Mo
