CPT_26_22 Professional Accountancy Apprenticeship training programme
National Audit OfficeEstimated Value
Up to £5,000,000
Deadline
Not specified
Published
7 August 2026
Type
Not specified
Overview
The National Audit Office (NAO) is the UK’s independent public spending watchdog, supporting Parliament in holding government to account and improving public services through high-quality audit work. The NAO intends to re-procure its Professional Accountancy and Apprenticeship Training contract to support tuition delivery for graduate and school-leaver trainees undertaking ICAEW qualifications, including ACA examinations.
The procurement is expected to launch in late autumn 2026. The NAO is seeking an experienced, accredited training provider to deliver professional accountancy tuition and apprenticeship training for the following expected routes: •Level 6 Digital Financial Audit apprenticeships for graduates and school leavers, delivered over 48 months.
This route combines the 12-month Certificate in Finance, Accounting and Business (CFAB) with a 36-month Level 6 applied degree apprenticeship in Digital Technology; and •Level 7 Accountancy Professional apprenticeships for eligible school leavers, delivered over 54 months. •ACA Professional qualification route for eligible graduates, delivered over 36 months. The new procurement is expected to cover Level 6 and Level 7 apprenticeship training only.
Additional details
While Level 4 Professional Accounting Technician apprenticeships are currently delivered under the NAO's existing arrangements and will continue with the incumbent supplier, they are not intended to form part of the new procurement. The contract may include scope for the NAO to introduce, offer or develop additional related apprenticeship routes or qualification programmes at different levels during the term, subject to business need, funding availability and agreement with the appointed provider.
The estimated total value of the new procurement is up to £6 million (inclusive of VAT) over a five-year term. Although Level 4 delivery is not intended to form part of this new procurement, the estimated value has been set to accommodate the anticipated Level 6 and Level 7 apprenticeship routes, potential changes in demand, and the possible introduction of additional apprenticeship pathways, qualification programmes, or related services during the contract term. The anticipated contract term is three years, with an option to extend for up to a further two years, giving a maximum duration of five years.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
KPMG LLP
£14m
total awarded
- 2
ERNST & YOUNG LLP
£10m
total awarded
- 3
DELOITTE LLP
£18m
total awarded
- 4
Phoenix Software Limited
2 contracts wonlatest 20 Aug 2026ends 29 Sept 2031£6m
total awarded
- 5
Success at School Ltd
2 contracts wonlatest 20 May 2026ends 30 Jun 2027£34,200
total awarded
KPMG LLP is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
National Audit OfficeKey Dates
Published
7 August 2026
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
planning
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Decadal scale net sediment budget and geomorphic change analysis of SSSI dune systems in england
Decadal scale net sediment budget and geomorphic change analysis of SSSI dune systems in England.It is intended that changes in dune field sediment volume and spatio-temporal varia
Malaysia penang centre regear and refit
The British Council currently occupies Wisma Great Eastern, Penang - No. 25, Lebuh Light, 10200 Level 3A, Suite 3A.1. The British Council is required to fitout the premises to reco
Poplar harca lift service and maintenance – all estates
Poplar HARCA is seeking to procure a new Contract for Lift Service and Maintenance. The Contract will require the Contractor to provide and manage all the necessary resources and i
Integrated security solutions (ISS) works at walham and pentir
National Grid Electricity Transmission Plc is seeking experienced and suitably qualified suppliers capable of delivering a fully integrated security solution for critical national
