Community Chronic Pain Pathway (CPP) Services
NHS Frimley Integrated Care BoardEstimated Value
Not specified
Deadline
Not specified
Published
23 April 2025
Type
services
Overview
This notice is placed as a Prior Information Notice (PIN) to seek expressions of interest in being considered as the most suitable provider for the delivery of a Community Chronic Pain Pathway (CPP) Service on behalf of Frimley Integrated Care Board (ICB). The ICB is launching the Frimley Community Chronic Pain Pathway for patients aged 18 and over with chronic pain lasting more than three months.
The CPP offers early intervention, assessments, physical and psychological management, medication management, and necessary treatments. It serves those living in or registered with general practices in the Frimley ICB area, which includes Bracknell Forest, North East Hampshire & Farnham, the Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead, Slough, and Surrey Heath.
There is potential for a level of an existing waiting list held within acute trust to be moved into service scope, as additional activity. The contract will commence 1st October 2025 until 30th September 2030, with the option to extend for up to a further two years (i.e. 30th September 2032).
Key points
- suitable premises across all areas of the Frimley ICS geography with capacity for sufficient face to face, with accessibility for the core 20 population areas and other populations of high need. The premises will also need to meet all relevant Faculty of Pain Medicine Core Standards (2021) for surgical interventions.
- access to diagnostic testing, including (but not limited to) blood work, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and x-ray.
- an experienced multidisciplinary team (MDT) to deliver a range of medical and non-medical interventions providing advice, assessment and treatment via individual and group sessions including Pain Management Programmes, Physiotherapy, Psychology, combined Physiotherapy & Psychology and Movement groups.
- Multidisciplinary clinical workforce to work as a single integrated Chronic Pain team, including Nurses, Physiotherapists / Advanced Clinical Practitioners and Psychologists, each with specialisms in Chronic Pain. Also, Pharmacist or OT and Medics such as Consultant in Chronic Pain/Anaesthetics.
- Interventions include soft tissue injections, ultrasound guided injections and image guided injections, Botox and Capsaicin patch, opioid tapering where appropriate and support to primary care for opioid prescribing. Surgical interventions requiring Anaesthetics.
- Model to support and educate GPs is fundamental to optimise analgesia, promote self-management and to manage pain flare ups. As part of referral management, the service must ensure that all patients referred have received conservative treatment including rehabilitation support prior to acceptance within the chronic pain pathway. -The Provider will also employ the relevant administrative and operational staff to manage an effective and coordinated booking system, enabling ease of communication for referred patients. -Interoperability with existing systems (including digital) and integration between providers to deliver a single cohesive offer.
Key points
- suitable premises across all areas of the Frimley ICS geography with capacity for sufficient face to face, with accessibility for the core 20 population areas and other populations of high need. The premises will also need to meet all relevant Faculty of Pain Medicine Core Standards (2021) for surgical interventions.
- access to diagnostic testing, including (but not limited to) blood work, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and x-ray.
- an experienced multidisciplinary team (MDT) to deliver a range of medical and non-medical interventions providing advice, assessment and treatment via individual and group sessions including Pain Management Programmes, Physiotherapy, Psychology, combined Physiotherapy & Psychology and Movement groups.
- Multidisciplinary clinical workforce to work as a single integrated Chronic Pain team, including Nurses, Physiotherapists / Advanced Clinical Practitioners and Psychologists, each with specialisms in Chronic Pain. Also, Pharmacist or OT and Medics such as Consultant in Chronic Pain/Anaesthetics.
- Interventions include soft tissue injections, ultrasound guided injections and image guided injections, Botox and Capsaicin patch, opioid tapering where appropriate and support to primary care for opioid prescribing. Surgical interventions requiring Anaesthetics.
- Model to support and educate GPs is fundamental to optimise analgesia, promote self-management and to manage pain flare ups. As part of referral management, the service must ensure that all patients referred have received conservative treatment including rehabilitation support prior to acceptance within the chronic pain pathway. -The Provider will also employ the relevant administrative and operational staff to manage an effective and coordinated booking system, enabling ease of communication for referred patients. -Interoperability with existing systems (including digital) and integration between providers to deliver a single cohesive offer.
Key dates
- Commences
- 1st October 2025
Submission
Expressions of interest must be submitted no later than 12 noon on the 8th May 2025 via the e-procurement portal.
Additional details
The anticipated contract value is £2,610,789 per annum. This would therefore be a total contract value of £18,275,523 over the full 7-year lifetime of the contract, subject to NHS Payment Scheme’s published net annual cost uplift factor.
TUPE is likely to apply for this service. Further details will be provided at a further stage of this process, as required.
This exercise is being carried out by NHS South, Central and West Commissioning Support Unit (SCW) on behalf of the Commissioner. This notice is placed as a Prior Information Notice (PIN) to seek expressions of interest in being considered as the most suitable provider for the delivery of a Community Chronic Pain Pathway (CPP) Service on behalf of Frimley Integrated Care Board (ICB).
The ICB is launching the Frimley Community Chronic Pain Pathway for patients aged 18 and over with chronic pain lasting more than three months. The CPP offers early intervention, assessments, physical and psychological management, medication management, and necessary treatments.
It serves those living in or registered with general practices in the Frimley ICB area, which includes Bracknell Forest, North East Hampshire & Farnham, the Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead, Slough, and Surrey Heath. The ICB is seeking to secure a Prime Provider who has the capability and capacity to deliver a comprehensive end-to end service for the Community Chronic Pain Pathway, focusing on a therapy-led and fully integrated
There is potential for a level of an existing waiting list held within acute trust to be moved into service scope, as additional activity. The contract will commence 1st October 2025 until 30th September 2030, with the option to extend for up to a further two years (i.e. 30th September 2032).
The anticipated contract value is £2,610,789 per annum. This would therefore be a total contract value of £18,275,523 over the full 7-year lifetime of the contract, subject to NHS Payment Scheme’s published net annual cost uplift factor.
TUPE is likely to apply for this service. Further details will be provided at a further stage of this process, as required.
Providers wishing to express an interest must do so within the e-procurement system where providers can access to a questionnaire which must be submitted to complete their expression of interest. This exercise is being carried out by NHS South, Central and West Commissioning Support Unit (SCW) on behalf of the Commissioner.
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
Berkshire Primary Care Ltd
£1
total awarded
- 2
Sussex Community Dermatology Ltd
£0
total awarded
- 3
Thames Hospice
£22m
total awarded
- 4
Bartlett Group Practice
1 contract wonlatest 9 May 2025£93,000
total awarded
- 5
Shreeji Medical Centre
1 contract wonlatest 9 May 2025£93,000
total awarded
Berkshire Primary Care Ltd is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeStart free trial to downloadCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
NHS Frimley Integrated Care BoardKey Dates
Published
23 April 2025
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
planning
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
Women's health hub for berkshire west (reading, wokingham and west berkshire)
NHS Thames Valley Integrated Care Board (the Commissioner) has completed a Most Suitable Provider process in accordance with the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Re
Single point of access market engagement
The development of an automated digital musculoskeletal (MSK) Single Point of Access (SPA) tool for BHFT's community physiotherapy (MSK Physio), specialist physiotherapy (Community
Falls prevention service
Countywide Falls Prevention Service requirement within West Sussex for a maximum duration of 5 years (3+2). West Sussex County Council is seeking to commission evidence-based falls
Homeless and rough sleeper service
This contract is for delivering a combined GP clinic (up to 8 hours a week) and community nursing outreach service for homeless and rough sleepers in Eastbourne, Lewes and Wealden, valued at about £236k per year for two years.
