Adult Drug and Alcohol Treatment Services
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough CouncilEstimated Value
Up to £17,982,352
Deadline
Not specified
Published
20 January 2026
Type
services
Overview
This notice covers two contract modification, the first utilised the first extension period, extending the contract until 31 January 2027, and the inclusion of the DATRIG and IPS Monies. The effective date was 01 April 2025, however the modification was not signed until 08 October 2025.
The second modification utilised the final extension period, extending the contract term to 31 January 2028. This was fully signed on 23 October 2025.
The original contract notice (Notice ID: 2022/S 000-019163) was for an initial term of 3 years with an option to extend for up to a further 2 years. Bidders were required to submit a bid for the full contract period, 3 years with an option to extend for a further 2 years, at the point of submission.
Key dates
- Duration
- 3 years
Additional details
The original Award notice (Notice ID: 2023/S 000-005293) awarded the contract for the initial 3 year period. This modification notice utilises the extension period available within the contract extending the contract term to 31 January 2028.
This notice also includes additional modifications to the contract, these being Individual Placement Support (IPS), DATRIG and National Insurance increases Monies. Further information is detailed below.
IPS: IPS aims to support people in recovery from drugs and/or alcohol into sustained employment. Commitments made in the national drug strategy included ensuring that IPS would be available in all treatment systems in all English local authorities by 2024-25.
National IPS specification requirements necessitate full integration of the IPS delivery team within community drug and alcohol treatment services, including access to case management systems. Given that IPS relies on seamless integration between employment support and clinical/treatment services this intervention can only be delivered by the existing drug treatment provider, Cranstoun.
Sandwell Council modified the contract with Cranstoun to include the delivery of IPS for the confirmed funding period of 2024/25 (£158,402) and 2025/26 (£166,322). Sandwell's funding allocation was not known at the time adult drug and alcohol treatment services was procured.
DATRIG: Sandwell Council's contract with Cranstoun to deliver drug and alcohol treatment services commenced on 1 February 2023. At the time of the procurement the Council were aware that additional government monies to support the national drug strategy were confirmed until 31 March 2025.
This was included in tender documentation and the associated budget. In January 2025 Government announced an additional one-year funding allocation for 2025/26.
The conditions of the funding necessitates spend on a menu of interventions many of which can only be delivered by specialist drug and alcohol services. Cranstoun were awarded £668,981 for the financial year 2025/26 to improve the quality of existing services through an increased staffing model and capacity, access to new Opiate Substitution Therapy (Buvidal), enhanced outreach and harm reduction, more residential rehab placements and the development of stronger pathways between health, social care and criminal justice.
National Insurance Increase: Cranstoun's contract with Sandwell Council commenced on 1 February 2023. Their tender submission included a fully costed budget based on staff oncosts at the time.
On 6 April 2025, Government increased employer national insurance contributions from 13.8% to 15% while the threshold for payment of national insurance decreased from £9100 to £5000 meaning employers were required to start paying national insurance at a lower earnings level. This resulted in additional staffing costs of £45,246 for 2025/26 which were not budgeted for in Cranstoun's tender submission. Savings were not available from elsewhere therefore the only alternative option to increased funding would be to cut a staff post which would be detrimental to the ambitions of both the national drug strategy and the 10-year strategic plan for the drug and alcohol treatment and recovery workforce (2024-2034).
AI AnalysisMembers
Requirements, key tasks and tips for reading this tender — included with Tendarix membership.
£4.99/month after a 7-day free trial. Cancel anytime before it ends and you pay nothing.
Award Details
Cranstoun
£17,982,352
Likely incumbents
Suppliers who won similar work from this buyer in the last 5 years.
- 1
Age UK Birmingham
£246,941
total awarded
Age UK Birmingham is the most likely incumbent based on recency and category match. To win, bidders typically need a clearly differentiated proposition or a price advantage.
Before you bid, buyers check
two years of filed accountsyour financial standingturnover vs contract valueyour Companies House recordcash flow for 30-day termscredit scores and ratios
Actions
Start free trialto open noticeCreate an account and start a 7-day free trial to open the buyer’s own notice and tender documents, plus fit scoring and the Bid Writer. Then £4.99/month — cancel anytime.
Open Bid WriterIndependent software, web & cloud studio. We design, build and grow digital products that quietly outlast their category.
How to Apply
Step-by-step submission guide
Submission Portal
Find a Tender
Open the original notice
Click the button below to view the full notice on Find a Tender Service (FTS)
Check the procedure type
The "Procedure" section tells you if it's Open (one stage) or Restricted (SQ then ITT). This changes how you apply
Access the eSourcing portal
FTS notices link to the buyer's eSourcing platform — register there to access documents
Complete the Selection Questionnaire
Higher-value contracts often require an SQ first — this pre-qualifies you before the full bid stage
Submit electronically
Upload your completed response through the eSourcing platform before the closing date and time
FTS contracts are above UK procurement thresholds. Late submissions are strictly rejected — submit at least 24 hours before the deadline to avoid portal issues.
Buyer Profile
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough CouncilKey Dates
Published
20 January 2026
Submission deadline
Not specified
Notice type
awardUpdate
Source
find a tender
Related Tenders
CWC26005 - physiotherapy service
This service is for the provision of an occupational physiotherapy service for approximately 4,400 Council employees, delivering assessment, treatment and rehabilitation to support
COV - young people's drug and alcohol prevention, treatment and support service 2027
Coventry City Council is looking for a provider to deliver drug and alcohol prevention, treatment and support services for young people, including safeguarding responsibilities, as part of its public health duties.
Home care including carers home based respite services in staffordshire
The Council are commissioning Care in the home services including a Carers home and community respite service across Staffordshire for Carers who have been assessed as having suppo
The repair of steering gear and hydraulic assemblies & associated items
The Ministry of Defence (the Authority), proposed to award a five (5) year Framework agreement with two (2) x 12-month option years subject to requirement and satisfactory performa
